Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Did not like these at all. Thought they were dry and lacking in flavor. Might be better with some kind of icing or frosting?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These are good cookies, but I feel as though the title was somehow misleading. I was expecting a cinnamon cookie with some other spices, but it really was just a spice cookie with cinnamon chips. Again, a good cookie, just not what I expected. I even subbed cinnamon for some of the other spices and I could barely tell it was in there. For those of you looking for Cinnamon Chips, I had to order them on Amazon.com. None of the other grocery stores (Wal-mart, Kroger or Whole Foods) around me carried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I just bit into the best spice cookie EVER. I followed the recipe exactly except that my molasses wasn't light, and I lessened the ginger and nutmeg in order to add 2 t of cinnamon. The dough was just right for rolling into balls and then into cinnamon/sugar. Baked them on a silicon sheet. My husband took one bite and said "Wow!" They are so, so, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
these are addictive! I used 2 tsps cinnamon and 2 tsps pumpkin pie spice for the nutmeg and ginger, rolled them in cinnamon sugar (1 tsp cinnamon and 3/8 cup sugar) 1 tbsp scoop made 102 cookies, 10 minutes was perfect on silpat liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Beautiful cookies(mine took longer to bake, 12 min), easy dough to work with, I just didn't care for the flavor at all. I think it's purely a personal thing-I didn't like the taste of the dough, the smell of them baking, or the finished product. My oldest son liked them so now he has A TON of cookies all to himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made these tonight -- only change I made was to use 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp Cinnamon Plus (kind of like Apple Pie Spice). I also was short on Molasses, so only used 3 oz. instead of 4 oz. with no impact on flavor. Consistency of dough was perfect -- used a teaspoon cookie scoop and got more than 6 dozen cookies. I also sprayed my cookie sheet very lightly with Pam since I wasn't using a non-stick sheet. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These cookies were excellent! I made half a batch and took them into work, they were gone in less than a hour and people were wondering where they could get more. So simple to make and a big bonus with the twist on the usual molasses cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These cookies were just okay for us. Not great, but not awful. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These baked up pretty, delicious and crackly. I followed the recipe exactly. I had no problem rolling the dough into balls or the sugar. I tend to like thicker cookies, so on the last cookie sheet I tried not flattening the cookie dough balls at all and, interestingly, it made no difference whatsoever. They're light, just barely crispy and chewy all at once, and almost literally melt in your mouth. One thing they're NOT, however, and what made me somewhat disappointed with them, is cinnamon-y! I'm not so much disappointed in the recipe, I guess, as I am with my own expectations. The title does begin with "Cinnamon," and I based my expectations on that and the cinnamon chips - I should have had foresight, I suppose, and noticed there was no cinnamon in the dough. In keeping with the "Cinnamon Cookie" idea, were I to make these again I'd try backing off on both the nutmeg and ginger, and add a good amount of cinnamon instead. This made a LOT of dough, way more than I needed. But it worked out well because I gave half the dough to a busy friend to bake with her daughter and she was thrilled! Just another thought...with vanilla extract as pricey as it is, I have my doubts as to whether 2 T. is necessary. I'd bet that with all the spice in the cookie that you'd notice no difference if that was reduced to 2 teaspoons. Additionally, the lesser amount of liquid may be all that's needed to help those who found the dough difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I bought a bag of cinnamon chips awhile back, because I had never seen them before- and I finally found a recipe to use them! First off, I didn't have shortening, and it turned out I was a little short on butter- so I used margarine. Next time I will use butter, because everytime I use margarine for cookies- the consistency is a little too "cake-like" for my taste. I followed the rest of the recipe, except I didn't have ginger- so I added a little allspice. The recipe said to use an ungreased cookie sheet, and I normally use Pam- this time I didn't, and the cookies were a little difficult to get off the sheet. Also, like all the other people said, the dough was definitely not stiff. I tried putting it in the freezer for 15 minutes since I was short on time- but it still was not stiff enough to be able to roll into balls. So, I dropped the scoops onto the sheet and then sprinkled with sugar...they didn't come out as 'pretty' as other people have said, only cuz I couldn't roll them in sugar. BUT, overall...they taste pretty yummy! The house smelled like Christmas time while they were baking. I will be making them again, but will try to fix the problems I had the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States