Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Made 8 kinds of Christmas cookies this December, by far these were my favorite. I could eat them all day long! Only change I made was using cinnamon instead of the ginger and nutmeg. Everyone said these were addictive! I love Hershey's Cinnamon Chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
These weren't "to die for" cookies as I'd hoped, however, they were still good. I added about 3 tablespoons of cinnamon before I got the cinnamon-y taste I was looking for, and eliminated the nutmeg in lieu of a couple shakes of cloves and pumpkin pie spice I wanted to use up. I used butter instead of shortening and used half baking soda/half baking powder as I didn't want a flat, greasy cookie. Dough was easy to work with and roll out. My 5 year-old DD helped me roll them in cinnamon sugar. They baked up into cute little cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I used margarine and my dough was soft. I just dropped by spoonfuls onto the cookie sheets. LOVED these! My favorite spice cookie now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Wonderful! These will replace plain old gingersnaps in my cookie repertoire. I did not find the dough to be very stiff, but it was easy to use a medium-sized scoop to make balls and roll them quickly in sugar. My cookies were a bit larger - 8 per sheet pan. I doubt I'll wait until Christmas to make them again - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I used margarine instead of shortening and found the dough to be much too sticky to handle. This was also probably why the cookies turned out very flat and the tops didn't crackle. The cookies certainly had a good taste even if they weren't the prettiest things to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Using the scoop-and-level method for measuring flour (and not sifting), I found the dough to be a perfect density for the method as written. Suggestions: try smaller balls than the walnut-size suggested; roll lightly in your palms after dipping into sugar; use parchment paper; bake ONLY until edges are firm and cookies are still puffy (6 minutes in my oven); and follow the author's advice to remove at once and cool on racks (where cookies will deflate and produce the crinkled effect). When I halved the recipe, doubled the cinnamon, omitted ginger, and substituted some butter for some of the shortening, it yielded 3 dozen cookies, with a nice combination of crisp and chewy, and strong cinnamon flavor. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Loved these. Found the cinnamon chips as a seasonal item and stocked up. Changes made were, to use 1 cup of shortening and 1/2 C of butter. Cut the vanilla back to 1 TBSP, 1 tsp of nutmeg and per other reviews, added in a tsp of cinnamon. Otherwise everything else was perfect. Baked for 9 minutes and with my small cookie scoop, got 76 cookies out of this batch. All were uniform and about 2 1/2 inches across. Tastes better the next day, the spices really come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I love these cookies! I made a couple of changes though. I cannot buy cinnamon chips in my area so I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the batter. I'm not a fan of shortening so I subbed butter (not margarine!) The taste is to die for! Also - because I am a cinnamon freak - I rolled the dough balls in cinnamon sugar before baking. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I didn't care for these. It's not my type of cookie to begin with, but I figured it's the pefect time to try these. Thanksgiving! they were good, but just not for me. Too spicy, too much going on. I prefer delicious, more simpler tasting cookies. But if you like spice in cookies, definitely try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by TRISKELE
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Just made these and they are a good cookie, but I'm not as excited about them as I had hoped. I think it's the after taste of molasses that I'm not enjoying so much; I've never cooked with molasses before and I'm guessing it's just a personal preference thing. Having said that, the cookies turned out beautiful and were super easy to make. I did use 3 sticks of unsalted butter because I couldn't bring myself to eat shortening in a cookie, used half white and half brown sugar, added 2 tsp. of my prized Vietnamese cinnamon to the dough, and cut the baking soda and salt in half. I also rolled the cookies in cinnamon sugar, rather than just sugar. The cookies are gorgeous, not flat and thin, the dough was nice and stiff (yes, even using all butter), and they baked up perfectly in 12 minutes. I would try this recipe again leaving the molasses out and I imagine that would make this a five-star recipe for me. Thanks! It was great to try something new. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States