Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Simply Scrumptious! Wow, these are so easy to make. I never thought of cake mix in cinnamon rolls before, but it really works our great and gives these rolls a lighter texture and nice flavor. Not so yeasty tasting. I used twice the cinnamon sugar mix called for, and made 1 set of rolls with brown sugar/cinnamon and the other with white sugar/cinnamon. This dough was really easy to work with and easy to roll up and cut. Directions were simple and these rolls turned out perfectly for me. So good, it was hard to eat just one, and by the way, they were big rolls too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I cut this recipe in half and it made the fluffiest, moist, delicious cinnamon rolls. I added more cinnamon, a little nutmeg, and about 1/4 cup of brown sugar (remember I only used half the recipe). I also added about 2 tblsp of melted butter to brush the tops before baking to keep them nice and soft. These came out perfect with very little fuss. And in my book that makes this a keeper recipe...plus my son LOVES them. Huge as they were-HE ATE TWO!!! We will definitely make again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made these for our New Year's day brunch and they were YUMMY! Great recipe..the dough is easy to work with and the recipe goes together quickly with the quick rise yeast. Will add more cinnamon next time, but will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mer in the Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These were very tasty - but I think they taste more like a donut than a typical cinnamon roll. Which is fine - they were very yummy - just not what I was expecting. I followed other's suggestions and added more cinnamon. I tried half of the batch with white sugar, the other half with brown. We liked the brown sugar better. One other thing I encountered while making these was the dough was REALLY sticky when I went to knead it. I kept adding handfuls of flour, because it wasn't very manageable. Also, it says this recipe is "Ready in: 40 Minutes" which just isn't true. Read through the directions thoroughly before you start these. They will take at least 1 hour and 45 minutes. To see step-by-step pictures of these rolls being made, you can visit my food blog:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mer in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHRISCOOKING
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Made these for my family and they like them! The only thing, my husband said they needed more butter/sugar/cinnamon between the dough layers. So next time I will increase that. Also, I used brown sugar and 2 tsp. cinnamon. I think the brown sugars adds a little more flavor! I will make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These were very easy! I'd never made cinnamon rolls before, but my son really wanted them for breakfast Christmas morning, so I tried this recipe. I'll keep using this one. The only thing I'll change next time is to double the cinnamon and add 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisapalermo
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These are absolutely the best Cinnamon Rolls I have ever had!!! I followed the recipe for the dough and icing, but mixed my own filling. There are other recipes on this site for Cinnamon Rolls using a cake mix, but they are not as good as this one. The dough was easy to work with and the rolls were soft and chewy on the inside. I cannot wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapalermo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this recipe and thought it was great the way the recipe called for, it was easy and excellent. I decided to try a twist on it and used a devils food cake mix, for the filling I used 1/2c. brown sugar, 1/2 c. mini chips, 1/2 c. walnuts, 1/2c.coconut in place of the the sugar and cinnamon I still used the melted butter. After they were bake I made german chocolate cake topping and put a spoonful in the middle and frosted the sides with chocolate frosting. My picky husband thought they were great, my chocolate loving neighbor called to say she needed the recipe or I had to keep making them for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Shiozaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wales, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
These were excellent and easy to make!!! I added some raisins to mine and they were fabulous!!! I have made it a few times I made it for Mother's day it was a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was so easy, and my family went crazy over the rolls. Taste just like what you would by at the bakery. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palang

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States