Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is a great, easy recipe. I have other recipes for cinnamom rolls, but I won't be using them anymore. If you only make half the recipe (like I did) try using one of the cupcake mixes currently available - saves you the mess of trying to divide the big cake mix in half. The rolls were tender and flavorable. Like all the others, I used more butter, more cinnamon and mixed white and brown sugars. I also mixed and kneaded this in my stand mixer with the dough hook. You need to try this recipe out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
AMAZING! I loved these! They tasted better than any other cinnamon rolls I've made and are much easier to make. I cut the recipe in half. (You either need a 9oz cake mix or to measure out half of a 18.25 oz one) I also froze some of the cinnamon rolls, they tasted great, just pop them in the oven and they were wonderful. Almost no difference from being freshly baked. I do recommend using a different filling. Mine was (for a half recipe) 3/4 cup light brown sugar, 2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp ground cloves (optional). The only drawback was the recipe said they take 40 minutes when they take 1 hour and 40 minutes. They are so worth it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisapalermo
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These are absolutely the best Cinnamon Rolls I have ever had!!! I followed the recipe for the dough and icing, but mixed my own filling. There are other recipes on this site for Cinnamon Rolls using a cake mix, but they are not as good as this one. The dough was easy to work with and the rolls were soft and chewy on the inside. I cannot wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapalermo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
These were excellent and easy to make!!! I added some raisins to mine and they were fabulous!!! I have made it a few times I made it for Mother's day it was a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Simply Scrumptious! Wow, these are so easy to make. I never thought of cake mix in cinnamon rolls before, but it really works our great and gives these rolls a lighter texture and nice flavor. Not so yeasty tasting. I used twice the cinnamon sugar mix called for, and made 1 set of rolls with brown sugar/cinnamon and the other with white sugar/cinnamon. This dough was really easy to work with and easy to roll up and cut. Directions were simple and these rolls turned out perfectly for me. So good, it was hard to eat just one, and by the way, they were big rolls too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Excellent! I used the bread machine, dividing all ingredients in half except I used 3 cups bread flour for each batch. Wonderfully soft and easy dough to work with. I added raisins to the cinnamon-sugar (I used brown sugar) mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Is NOT an easy to use dough, as claimed. Wound up adding over an extra cup of flour to keep it from sticking to everything and buns tasted like flour. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Philippi, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mer in the Kitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These were very tasty - but I think they taste more like a donut than a typical cinnamon roll. Which is fine - they were very yummy - just not what I was expecting. I followed other's suggestions and added more cinnamon. I tried half of the batch with white sugar, the other half with brown. We liked the brown sugar better. One other thing I encountered while making these was the dough was REALLY sticky when I went to knead it. I kept adding handfuls of flour, because it wasn't very manageable. Also, it says this recipe is "Ready in: 40 Minutes" which just isn't true. Read through the directions thoroughly before you start these. They will take at least 1 hour and 45 minutes. To see step-by-step pictures of these rolls being made, you can visit my food blog:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mer in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I cut this recipe in half and it made the fluffiest, moist, delicious cinnamon rolls. I added more cinnamon, a little nutmeg, and about 1/4 cup of brown sugar (remember I only used half the recipe). I also added about 2 tblsp of melted butter to brush the tops before baking to keep them nice and soft. These came out perfect with very little fuss. And in my book that makes this a keeper recipe...plus my son LOVES them. Huge as they were-HE ATE TWO!!! We will definitely make again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I tried these, and they were a big hit. Even my GIRL, loved it, and she's picky. She asks for me to make them again, and again. I also, added more sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States