Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Yum! These are really good, almost as good as the Cinnabon ones. My family was thrilled. I did make a few changes, but more out of personal preference than anything else. I will say it took me about a half cup more of flour to get a proper dough consistency, but the dough was otherwise quite easy to work with and these turned out very well. I didn't have quick-rise yeast, so it took my dough a bit longer to rise, but I was expecting that. I also used a different cinnamon filling (2/3 butter, softened, 2 cups brown sugar, 6 Tablespoons cinnamon - I mixed them all together with a pastry cutter and then spread half of the mixture on each rolled out portion of dough.) I made the rolls the night before and put them in the fridge overnight. Then, we pulled them out of the fridge and let them rise for about an hour before putting them in the oven. They baked up quite nicely, and I made a cream cheese icing for the top instead of the one listed because my family prefers that. Really, really, really good. And, all things considered when it comes to homemade cinnamon buns, pretty easy. I will definitely make these again, though I'd still use my filling and icing as opposed to the ones given with the recipe, since they were just extremely good the way we made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I just used the frosting (I already had a roll recipe) and it was delicious! Love the fact that it doesn't use cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I followed the directions until it came to using the butter. I thought it would be better to spread butter on the dough. Then I used 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup sugar w/ cinnamin. I used this on each dough roll. They turned out great and had many yums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Just made these this morning! Soo delish!!! Did take quite a bit longer then the directions say!!! About 90 mins. Dough at 1st was very sticky/hard to work with. But with lots of extra flour, it came too. Also took the tips from others and made the filling with softened butter, cinnamon and brown sugar. It really gives it the perfect Cinnamon Roll taste! Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrinsMommy
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This. Was. Awesome. So much better than paying big bucks for Cinnabon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrinsMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These are amazing cinnamon rolls! The only thing I did to change the recipe: I used a box of rainbow chip super moist cake mix from Betty Crocker since that was all I had. Also instead of using melted butter with white sugar and cinnamon for the filling, I mixed together softened butter, brown sugar and cinnamon to make a cinnamon spread. I spread it on there THICK, I like lots of ooey gooey goodness with my cinnamon rolls! These are amazing, amazing, amazing. They're even good refrigerated and reheated in the microwave the next day! I will never buy Cinnabon again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexistepps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were AMAZING! The only thing I did differently was add more cinnamon, and added a little brown sugar in the mixture. My hubby says these are some of the best he has had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I have a tried and true recipe I usually use, but this one sounded interesting. WOW am I glad I tried it, it is EXCELLENT. I did use brown sugar instead of white and with one batch I added nuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These are easy and good. As far as the dough, I read various comments that it wasn't easy to work with, but what is not specified here is exactly what a soft dough is. I use my Kitchen Aid (it has a kneading attachment) and what you are looking for is as you gradually add that last cup of flour for it to start to pull away from the sides of the bowl and form a squishy soft ball. I needed to add MORE than one cup when I tried this recipe. Humidity etc affects dough so you can't really go by an ironclad amount of flour. Just add it gradually so it's only as little additional flour as needed. I made two 13x9 pans of these and forgot to use brown sugar as other's had recommended and they were still good. I made one pan right away and did put one pan in the fridge and made them the next NIGHT, not the following morning. I felt the first batch was better than the second. The icing is sweet and just the right amount for two pans but the next time I think I would prefer a cream cheese icing with it, but that's just my preference. Also, I did double the sugar/cinnamon as other's suggested and I would do so again. The only "tip" I would give here for that is the next time I will just use two small bowls with 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon in each rather than one big bowl. It just makes it easier to figure out how much to put on each log.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Wow. I made these for a staff meeting. They loved them. I doubled the cinnamon sugar and the icing. I baked for 10 minutes in 400 degree oven. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States