Cinnamon Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Great recipe - even easier to pull off the second time around. A few lessons I discovered: 1) As others mention, use 8oz of cream cheese in frosting, not 3 oz as listed in recipe. Turns out perfect with 8 oz. Must be a typo. 2) I let mine rise for about 3 hours, they got much larger and fluffier that way - 1 hour wasn't enough. May be a result of the yeast I used? 3) The dental floss trick mentioned in other reviews worked great. 4) I have no idea how one is can roll out a rectangle! I just did a big circle and pulled out the corners by hand. 5) Leave the far side (the one you are rolling the "worm" of dough toward) clear of any butter or sugar mixture. It is easier to seal the seam if you have about 1/2" of clean dough to work with along that seam edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This recipe is the best one I've ever tried for cinnamon rolls, and I'm really picky. I did, however, do a couple things differently: 1) let the stand mixer knead it, which transformed it from sticky to smooth dough in 10 min, eliminating the need for extra flour 2) let the dough rise after kneading for 2 HRS - this makes it pliable, silky, and very easy to roll out into rectangles (plus, much lighter), 3) after rolling and refrigerating overnight, let them rise for 2 more hours in the morning (I know, it's a lot of time, but it's soooo worth it!). The end results were rolls that were tender, fluffy, and soft even after they cooled off. The frosting was amazing too. Thanks for this recipe! It will definitely be a regular in my reportoire! p.s. - for those who don't have a stand mixer, try letting the mixture rest for 10 minutes before kneading it (a French method known as autolyse). Flour needs time to absorb water, which will help with the sticky dough problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
887 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe is easily halved :) As for refrigerating the night before baking, I let the dough rise for an hour before I shape it into rolls. Then after shaped into rolls, I put in pan in fridge covered with plastic wrap. Then I turn the oven on in the morning and let them rise at room temperature/on top of oven for about 30 min-to an hour, until about doubled. Works wonderfully. And the frosting is sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
very good recipe. One tip i would suggest is that after letting the milk mixture cool down some add the sugar and yeast first. also you want the liquid to be around 105 - 115 degrees F. if you add the salt at the same time as yeast it will cause the yeast not to activate and due to this you will have problems getting it to rise. the yeast feeds off of the sugar which causes it to activate and rise more quickly. adding salt before the yeast activates kills off some of the yeast. So once you add the sugar and yeast wait about 10 minutes or until some foam forms on the surface of the liquid before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Good recipe but as a professional baker I would suggest to put all dry ingredients in bowl ( I also added 2tbls of glueton to flour (found in grocery store with the flour) this gives it a lighter, fluffy texture and helps preserve longer. Sugar activates the yeast not the salt as a review mentioned. I also melted butter and spread on dough then the brown sugar and sprocket cinnamon with raisins. Put in refrigerator if u want to bake in A.M. One viewer said it took a long time to rise. If u have a bread proofing cycle on your range use it. Otherwise if you press 140-200 no hotter on your oven then shut off put rolls in this cut rising time in half without killing the yeast. If u don't want the work u can use a loaf of frozen bread dough put in microwave on defrost for 4-5 minutes should be soften to roll if not put back in for 1 more minute only then roll spread melted butter, cinnamon mix with white or brown sugar or half brown & half white sugar and raisins roll up and cut 9-11 slices. Put in greased Pan not touching allowing for doubling in size then repeat oven instructions for proofing when doubled bake 350 for 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I made this recipe for my boyfriend and his co-workers, (they're firemen). They absolutely loved them. Now they all want the recipe so that they can have their wives/girlfriends make them at home. They especially loved the icing. I did need a little extra flour. Also I made up an extra batch of the cinnamon/brown sugar. I put it in a bowl with melted butter (just enought to make a slightly runny paste). Then I spread it over the tops of the cinnamon rolls right befor they go in the oven. It gives them just that much more yumminess. They especially loved the icing. These are now a favorite among my family, co-workers, and several local firehouses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These were well worth the effort. As for making ahead of time, I wasn't sure at what point to stop, so I made the rolls and put them in the pan - then placed in fridge. Got up early to let them warm, then rise, and then baked. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
These are absolutely divine! I was very nervous about these, as they were my first cinnamon rolls and I can have difficulties using yeast. I made these the night before, put them in the fridge, and let them rise and baked them in the morning. My boyfriend does not belive that I made these myself! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I forgot to add the egg until 15 minutes into the dough cycle so I pulled out the dough and worked the egg in by hand. I put it back in the bread machine and started it over. I was worried that the dough would be tough but it turned out wonderful. So, I'm thinking next time I'll remember the egg and it will even be better. My family loved these! Next time I may use a bigger pan like a lasagna pan since 13X9 was a bit crowded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
If you're a novice (like me) or looking for a compilation of most useful reviews, I'm listing the tips I found most helpful for these HEAVENLY rolls. I'd never used active yeast or made 'real' bread before, so I spent some time researching to figure out what to do and when. Here are my tips! 1)Once milk mixture cooled, added yeast & sugar then let sit 10 min to ensure yeast activated, then added salt, eggs, flour. 2)Added extra 1/2 C. flour to manage stickiness of the dough. After all flour was mixed, I let dough sit ~10 min (autolyse method). 3)After kneading, placed dough in greased bowl & placed wet towel over top to let rise ~2 hrs. 4)Divided dough, then used 9x12 sheet pan to gently press dough into rectangle 5)doubled cinnamon (4 tsp) for "filling" 6)Rolled dough from long edge, wrapped in plastic & put in fridge to cool (easier for slicing). I later sliced, put in pans (two 9x13 and one pie plate) and put back in fridge overnight. 7)Spacing - I did 9 rolls in each 9x13 pan, spaced about 1.5" apart. They rose enough during baking that they ended up covering entire pan, edges touching 8)In the AM, preheated oven and let pans sit on warm stove for 1 hr to let rise a bit more. Added leftover butter and sugar/cinnamon to tops & baked ~22 mins. 9) doubled cream cheese for frosting (6oz) which hydrated frosting enough that I didn't add milk, but definintely got a thicker frosting. If you want "drizzling" consistency, add a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States