Cinnamon Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Fabulous! I let these rise twice and then refridgerated overnight and baked in the morning! Really good! I might tweak the frosting a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe is soooo close to perfect!!! The dough itself is perfection, silky, rises beautifully (you do have to proof the yeast before you add it- for those having a problem with the rising) The dough is something like a donut dough, not yeasty or too bread like, or dry at all, simply beautiful. The filling to me needs much less sugar, this will also prevent the filling from forming a sticky caramel like crust on the bottom of the rolls- cut your sugar down to 1/2 cup light brown and 1/2 cup white and you should be fine. I also added extra cinnamon- 4 teaspoons total, yes you do end up using about 7 to 8 cups of flour but this is typical when kneading any bread. I used a frosting that you can buy in the supermarket- whipped cream cheesing icing and it was wonderful- not too sweet at all. There rolls were a HUGE hit this Easter and I will be making these very often!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Based on other suggestions, I cut back the sugar in bread part to 1/2 cup, but I don't think it is sweet enough. I am not a beginner as far as bread, and had difficulty w/ this one. I followed the recipe as far as just rising the bread once (instead of twice as some did) and then they sat for many, many hours, w/o a lot of rise. But the rolls do look okay, but they did not rise as big as I thought they should. Mine were not really moist, so probably baked them too long. I baked at 350 for 25 minutes. The filling did run out, but did not stick to my pans (used pyrex, LB pottery, and an alum. pie plate). I cut back the brown sugar in middle to 1 1/2 cups. I probably would add a little more cinnamon since don't taste much of it. Tried cutting w/ floss, but did not go well, used a sharp knife instead. Don't know that I will make again since I struggled so much. They are good, but not enough for me to rate the amount of work involved. Taking to church this am and hope all enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These rolls did not rise at all so the rolls were very dense. They tasted good but if the dough would have risen it would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Delicious! But way too sweet with 200 grams of sugar. I changed it to about 90-100 grams it was much much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I cannot believe how easy this was, I actually impressed myself. The first time I made it, it was a success, a huge hit! I made this for a treat for my son's 7th birthday party, let me tell you, it was the hit of the party. Now I have requests for other birthdays, communions, etc. The recipe is true to itself, try it...your family will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made a half recipe of this. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and the sugar (I cut the sugar back to a quarter cup) for ten minutes, then added the butter, eggs, warm milk, flour and salt. I did need a little more flour than what was called for in the recipe, almost another full cup. I kneaded the dough with the bread hook for about five minutes, then set the dough to rise for an hour or so in a large greased bowl on a warm heating pad. I rolled out the dough and mixed the softened butter (I upped the butter to a full half cup--for a half recipe) together with the brown sugar (changed to light brown sugar as that was all I had on hand) and cinnamon before I spread it on the dough. I sliced them up and set them in a baking pan, covered them with foil and set them in the fridge. In the morning, I set the cold rolls back on the warm heating pad to rise again for another hour or so. 400 degrees for a little over 15 minutes and they were done. When I made the icing, I only used one cup of confectioners sugar and only a little over a tablespoon of milk. I used a spoon to glob it on the top and as the icing warmed, I spread it with a knife. I was able to get 12 rolls out of a half recipe so adusting the servings was spot on. I did split the rolls into two pans, one was for my family and another I gave to my favorite cashiers. All were eaten and very much enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great recipe, thank you for sharing. I used the dough as a dinner roll also omitting the sugar and cinnamon rolling them in balls, turned out great. Thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Thought these were just okay. I love my recipe so perhaps I am prejudice. I ended up giving these away since my kids wouldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Tasted great. This was my very first attempt at a from scratch recipe...yeast...rolling pin, etc...I managed through it and they were well received by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States