Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is the first cinnamon roll recipe that I've ever tried and the family and I like it so much that I will surely stick with it. I've already baked it twice in one week! The texture of the bread is very pleasing. It's soft and chewy enough without being overly so. I made a few adjustments to the recipe because we don't eat eggs. I used "Egg Replacer" to replace the eggs, I added about a tablespoon of maple syrup to the dough for a slight hint of sweetness, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and a tablespoon of french vanilla non-dairy creamer for a gentle whisper of vanilla in the dough. I also added about a cup of nutritional yeast flakes and 1 tablespoon of vital wheat gluten and placed that in the dough. To the center sugar mixture I added about a half cup of ground flax seeds and mixed that in with the sugar that was sprinkled in the center to try to boost the nutrition a little. I used Smart balance in place of the butter which worked fine and I also rubbed some smart balance along with a little sugar on the top of the loaf which gave it a nice light brown lightly crispy top. This cinnamon roll came out really yummy. I have a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
OMG. These were sinful. I did add my own tweaks based on some of the other user comments: 1. I measured out the 1/4 c sugar for the dough and from that I added 1 tsp to the warm water for the yeast. The sugar will help the yeast bloom. 2. I added 2 T Crisco to the bread dough. 3. I doubled the filling mix and added 1/2 c chopped pecans. 4. Used a 9x13 pan but will use a cookie sheet next time. 5. baked at 350 for 20 minutes. I finished them off with a Brown sugar caramel: 1/4 c butter, 1 c brown sugar, 2 T skim milk, 1 tsp vanilla. Melt the butter and sugar in a heavy sauce pan. Stir constantly, and bring to a boil. Turn off heat and drizzle in milk and vanilla. Turn heat back on low and cook until sauce thickens. Turn off and let cool and the sauce will thicken more. Spoon over the hot rolls and let set for about 5 minutes....it's heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These are the real deal, the dough is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These were wonderful. I like to add a little more filling and top with icing. The icing is just 1 cup confectioner sugar with 1 tablespoon milk a 1/2 teaspoon vanilla mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymadness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made these twice but only baked them for 10 minutes the second time (instead of 20) because they got a little too brown and crispy on the outside. 10 minutes worked out much better. Other than that, it was a delicious and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I just made these cinnamon rolls, they are very easy to make and delicious! I did add the 1/4 cup of melted Crisco and tripled the filling, but did not let them rest over night in the refrigerator. After rolling and cutting place them in the baking pan then wait almost an hour before baking them. They will turn out wonderfully! These are so good that my family wants a second batch pronto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anndif

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The absolute best cinnamon rolls I have ever tasted. I have tried a zillion different recipes and none of them have worked out except for this one. Super easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggles314

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is only my third dough that I've ever made and this was so ooey gooey that a lightly floured surface was not enough. I think I probably added at least 1/2 cup of flour while kneading. I voted 5 stars because I didn't want my lack of experience to affect the rating of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
5 BIG stars! This recipe is PERFECT for small households which is a HUGE plus for me.....OR if you don't want a big pan of rolls to tempt you. The dough was ultra easy to mix/knead with my Kitchen-Aid mixer and as for the filling? I did NOT follow the recipe. I can tell you I used MORE butter then called for and eyed the cinnamon and used brown sugar and chopped pecans. I was craving cinnamon rolls and these fit the bill. I WILL be sharing this recipe with friends and family. THANK YOU for posting this simple, yummy recipe. OH BY THE WAY.....after the dough was kneaded I let it sit for half an hour and made these right away/same day.....so the overnight thing is optional since mine turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These are absolutely excellent! I made them for my 11-year-old brother and he had 4 (as did I)! We like ours a little gooey-er, so I added more butter, sugar, and cinnamon, but the dough itself was amazing. Since I used so much butter, I poured out what was left in the bottom of the pan and added milk, vanilla, and powdered sugar - it made a great icing! I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States