Cinnamon Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I make this recipe alot- it's one of our favorite sweet potato recipes. I usually double the sugar\spice mixture and I skip all the steps- I just coat the sweet potatoes with oil and then with the sugar/spice mixture... it comes out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
The taste can't be beat, and the recipe is a wonderful way to get different vegetables to your family, BUT, way to much oil! It was too hard to try to strain the oil off after baking and I didn't want to put them on paper towel for fear of losing the wonderful sauce it created! I had doubled the recipe and I forgot the lime as well. I would recommend using a seasoned stoneware baking dish and just lightly coat the potatoes before tossing w/seasonings. That way you don't have oil to deal with after they are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
My family just loved this but with feeding a diabetic I used olive oil and Brown Sugar Splenda. I just tossed everything into a pan and stirred once or twice. Nothing stuck to the glass baking dish and you couldn't tell it wasn't pure brown sugar. Note: Always use half the brown sugar splenda to what a recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Martin Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This is a great recipe! I used olive oil, added some cayenne pepper, and forgot all about the lime juice (I would have tried it if I remembered). I sliced thin (1/2 inch) slices and cooked at a higher temp (425) since I had something else in the oven at the same time. Easy to make, goof proof, and very tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBPES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Great dish, the lime is a good touch. Do not overcook the potatos in the oven oil start. Easily could happen. Crowd pleasure and not to sweet as most of these dishes are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I also forgot the lime juice at the end, but this was an instant hit with the family!! Mine didn't come out too greasy at all and it wasn't too sweet either - just tasty!!! I used Canola oil to keep the cholesterol down, and I also tipped it into a large mixing bowl to stir it a couple of times during cooking as 3 "decent" sized yams filled my casserole dish and I just couldn't stir them in the dish. Will DEFINITELY make this one again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
this is a great new way to serve sweet potatoes and I loved the lime juice at the end. I used just a little less than 1/4 cup of oil and had no grease problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was great, very well received by my very picky family. I added ground ginger, a little more cinnamon and a little more oil then mixed everything in the baking dish. It is excellent without the lime but incredible with it!! Hope you enjoy this receipe as much as we did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
My mother liked them. She said that they were a little greasy but worth making again with less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I find it much easier to combine the chopped potatoes in a plastic bag with the olive oil and other ingredients. It provides an even coating and I can usually get away with adding less olive oil than the original recipe calls for. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Stollen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States