Cinnamon Rice with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very yummy recipe. My husband was skeptical at first. He was reluctant to try it, but after he tasted it he went back for seconds. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Don't bother using brown rice, it takes way too long. Just stick with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is good. I tried it first with brown rice and it did not work. It would not soak up the liquid. White rice worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I always rate the recipes by how much is left after dinner. Not a whole lot was left. Being a novice baker, I may have forgot that adding sugar into rice may make it burn.....while I didn't burn it.....we'll just say it browned on the bottom. Top was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
made the recipe with minute rice, adding apples halfway thru the 17 minutes. it was done within the recipe's stated time. i thought the flavor was pleasant - didnt think more cinnamon or was needed and didnt think it was too sweet. the apple juice i used was from healthy balance so it contains less sugar so maybe that's why it didnt taste too sweet. but i guess i'm not a huge rice fan anyway so no one in my family really ate this up. but i do think if you like rice, it would make a fantastic side dish to several main dishes. we served it with ham and thought it was good, but think it would be great with grilled pork chops too. definitely a recipe worth a try, esp. since it's so easy to make. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Delicious! I substituted a mix of brown and wild rice. Package directions said to simmer 45 min, so I added apples and everything else 15 min before the end of cooking. I also substituted dried cherries for raisins and added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was just okay. It smelled heavenly and all of my kids were excited to try it, but no one liked it. It tasted fine, but was just too sweet for my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very interesting. It almost reminded me of a mushy rice pudding. The raisins were great as they added a great burst of flavor when you bit into them but the rice itself was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I loved this recipe! Since others had commented that the apples got mushy, I put them in with 10 minutes left in the cooktime. I also added a tablespoon of butter. I will definitely cook this again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Dish was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States