Cinnamon Rice with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Call me crazy but you know, this made an excellent breakfast rice. I used a Granny Smith apple, golden raisins and omitted the parsley and used apple pie spice instead. I did add a couple tbsp. of butter to the apple juice so the rice wouldn't stick to the pan. With a little brown sugar stirred in and a float of FF half-n-half over the top right before serving, this was heaven in a bowl. Even my kids fell in love with it! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
We tried this recipe with the Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops, as suggested by other reviewers. It is a keeper, just as written! I used jasmine rice, and let it sit for 10 minutes after cooking, as per cooking instructions for that variety of rice. We thought this would make a nice dessert with a little cream poured over it. Thanks for a great recipe! We'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My family loved this sweet rice for a different change of pace. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Really yummy side dish and not your normal rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My husband loves this dish. He gets excited when I cook it and requests it. My girl's like it too. My picky one picks out the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Good made with the rice cooker and got a little mushy not sure why....still had a nice flavor to go with the brown sugar grilled pork chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was pretty bland. I used brown rice but that was the only difference. Wouldn't make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
The minute I read this recipe, without even reading the other reviews, I knew exactly how I was going to tweak it. My mother was an excellent cook, and never made plain white rice. She always began by sauteing rice with onion - so that's what I did here. I sauteed the rice (I used Uncle Ben's converted rice) in 1 tablespoon of butter, along with a couple of tablespoons of chopped onion. After about 5 minutes, when the rice was nicely browned, I added apple cider (not juice) along with the other ingredients, and followed the rest of the recipe exactly, using golden raisins and a Granny Smith apple. I cooked it for 20 minutes and let it sit covered for 5, because that is what is called for on the Uncle Ben's box. I thought it was wonderful, and afterward, when I read the other reviews, I think the addition of the butter and the onions cut the sweetness and added that something extra that others found this recipe may have lacked. I made it with the grilled brown sugar pork chops and thought the combination was just too sweet. I would definitely make this with pork chops again, but maybe just simply grilled ones. I wasn't sure how I was going to like the cinnamon flavor in rice, but it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burr Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
kids did not like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Ok, the reason this gets only 3 stars is not because of how it tasted, but because it did not call for enough liquid!! I kept having to add more apple juice to get the rice to cook all the way through. Anyone else have this problem?? The taste was very sweet, my kids gobbled it up. I will probably make again, but tweak to give it a more "grownup" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States