Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
well i just wanted to say that i love it, no need to write a novel about it!! great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this using my Kitchen Aid mixer from start to finish. I did double the filling. I might triple it next time, for a deeper swirl. The dough came together beautifully (I've been having such issues with that lately) and rose like a champ. It's baking now, but I'll update after we've cut into it at tomorrow's breakfast. EDITED: Excellent bread. I liked that it wasn't overly sweet. The raisins add a nice touch. I couldn't wait for it to cool fully, I ate a piece warm with butter. Heavenly. Cut well even warm, didn't fall apart like most cinnamon breads do. Perfection. TIP: You might want to oil the pan down and make sure both sides of the loaf are oiled. It's a stickier bread, which means when it rises, you'll have a heck of a time getting it off the saran wrap if you don't. EDITED AGAIN: The vanilla glaze from this site is wonderful drizzled over warm slices of this bread. Just like a cinnamon roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
You need to double the filling for the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was amazing cinnamon bread. It tastes just like the kind at the local bakery. I used whole wheat flour- but I needed a lot more of it than the recipe called for, by about 1/4 to 1/3 cup. I also added a little extra sugar to the dough to counteract the bitterness that sometimes comes with whole wheat flour. Next time I'll add some cinnamon to the actual dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I make this bread all the time, it is that good. I've been experimenting a little with it. The last time, I added about 3/4 cup of raisins and 1/4 cup chopped granny smith apples. Next time I think I'll add more apples! It came out great. I also use 2.5 cups bread flour and 1.5 cups wheat flour and that seems to give it the perfect balance between a wheat bread and a white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Bread was good. The brown sugar mix for the swirl didn't even cover the rolled out bread. I made a little over a double recipe of the swirl. We were looking for a cinnamon swirl recipe to use for making french toast, it worked great for the french toast. With the cinnamon swirl we hardly needed any syrup on the french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
what is everyone crowing about? I made this the other day and found it to be very very very dry - i used craisins and raisins and doubled the filling but was not at all pleased. I will stick with a recipe I have had for years that I make by hand without the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
It was pretty good, I increased the filling ingredients by half and thought it was enough. The bread itself did lack something though, I might try some of the other cinnamon raisin bread recipes on this site and see what might be missing. I did like the fact that it had no eggs though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made it without raisins and added a lot more cinnamon, but it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States