Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
FANTASTIC! This recipe really made for a FANTASTIC loaf of bread. I plumped the raisins before adding. I added them by just sprinkling them over the brown sugar and cinnamon. Although I measured the filling, the next time I will just sprinkle it on as needed. Thank you Dmseck for such a FANTASTIC recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Great bread! I have to incorporate more whole grain into my diet, so I used 2 1/2 cups bread flour and 1 1/2 cups wheat. I also soaked the raisins. Since some noted an issue with the rise, and I used WW flour, I used 1 full pkt of yeast (2 1/4 tsp). I used considerably more cinnamon than called for, but will use more next time, as I prefer a stronger spice flavor. Light, soft, moist, and chewy bread, even with 1/1/2 cups wheat flour. Awesome toast, great texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very good. I cut this into thirds (I think I rolled it out too long), made a regular size loaf, a smaller loaf, and some cinnamon rolls. Very delicious! I made the Cocoa Cinnamon Spread from here to go with it, so I used some of that to top the cinnamon rolls while they were still warm. I forgot to add the raisins during the bread cycle so I just added it to the filling--which I didn't measure out, just sprinkled on until it looked good. Wonderful bread, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! The texture of the bread is very soft and almost chewy...in a very good way. I doubled the raisins--kneaded a cup into dough after it was done proofing out of the breadmaker and then scattered the second cup on top of the cinnamon sugar filling before the final roll-up. I actually added a Tbsp of "sweet dough flavor" from King Arthur Flour, some cinnamon and nutmeg into the dough--wonderful. If you don't know what I am talking about, "sweet dough flavor" is a liquid flavoring that has the taste of butter, vanilla, and citrus. I highly recommend it, but if you can't get it try some vanilla extract and orange extract. I love this bread, you should definitely try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
AMAZING! This bread is heaven on earth. I have some suggestions, read below! I added a couple of dashes of pumpkin pie spice to the dough, doubled the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture to put inside, and I also added another cup of raisins on top of the cinnamon mixture/rolled out dough. If you don't want the bread to fall apart around the swirls do this: beat up an egg, and before adding the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture to the rolled out dough, brush the dough with the beaten egg. then add brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. Your bread will not fall apart. A few tips: Use FRESH bread flour. If it's been sitting in your cupboards for a while, it'll taste stale and will make a big difference between fresh flour. Use FRESH yeast (check the date!) Check the temperature of your water for the dough. If you don't have a thermometer, just know that the water should be about body temperature. If it's even a few degrees too hot or too cold, it'll effect the texture of the bread. If you've ever felt a warm baby, the water should be about that temperature. Heat up the milk you're adding. If the milk is cold, it'll cool off the warm water, and negatively effect the yeast. Just nuke it for about 15-20 seconds until it's warm. If the milk is too hot, let it sit out for a minute before adding to the water. Don't bake for more than 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love it. Turned out perfect. Soft and stayed together. I didn't use a bread machine and next time I think I will try and add a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
YUMMY - I say this as I am eating my second piece just out of the oven. I was a little concerned that it would not turn out because the dough was like a thick cake dough - but it came out to be the best Cinnamon Raisin Bread I have ever tasted! I followed the recipe exactly except that I added cinnamon to the batter. I also plumped by raisins by bringing them to a boil in water and let them set for a few minutes. I did use my bread maker to make the dough and added the raisins when the timer beeped. Then I poured the dough onto a floured surface and kneaded it (adding a little flour) for about a minute. I just shaped the dough into a rectangle and smeared my butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar on top - then rolled it up and put it into a Pyrex loaf pan, let it rise for an hour, then baked. It came out perfect!!! Excuse me while I cut a piece for my husband....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was my first time with this type of bread. My bread was dense and soggy in the middle and the only thing I think I did wrong was not let it rise enough. Regardless... it was still very delicious and is a new family favorite. As suggested my other reviewers, I doubled the swirl and I did make the sugar glaze with milk and confectioners sugar and drizzled it on the tops of the loaves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I was looking for a good cinnamon bread to distribute to my family for Christmas. I've made cinnamon rolls before, but I'm pretty inexperienced when it comes to bread, but after reading all the reviews, I decided to give it a try. Instead of using 2 big loaf pans, I filled four mini loaf pans, after cutting off both ends(which were uneven). The four pans cooked for twenty minutes and turned out amazing! I topped them with a cream cheese glaze, and they turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe, it is simple and delicious. I am sure I will use this recipe again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States