Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
HERE'S MY RECIPE NOT USING A BREAD MACHINE: Soak 3/4 raisins in hot water for 1/2 hr. or till plump. Drain and pat dry on paper towel. Set aside. Dissolve 2 tsp. yeast and 1/2 tsp. sugar in 1/2 c. warm water - 95-105 degrees. Proof for 10 minutes or until foamy. Melt shortening in 3/4 c. water and 1/4 milk. Cool. Put salt, rest of sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon in large bowl. Add cooled milk mixture and proofed yeast. Stir together. Stir in flour until batter leaves side of bowl. Turn out onto lightly floured surface. Knead in remaining flour adding 1/2 - 1 cup extra flour if necessary. Knead about 6-7 mins. adding in the raisins during the last couple of minutes of kneading. Place in lightly oiled bowl. Turn dough over once in bowl to oil top side of dough. Cover with thin dishtowel and place in warm place to rise 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hrs. Punch down. Separate dough into two halves. Roll out each half of dough into rectangle (roughly 8 x 10"). Spread with softened butter and sprinkle with cinnamon brown sugar mixture (I doubled the filling). Roll each rectangle up tightly and seal ends and fold under. Place each rolled up dough in prepared pans, place towel over pans, let rise for another hour. Bake as directed in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
It was easy and delicious! I did double the filling...I may even triple it next time. The only critique I can give on this recipe is it doesn't tell you how large the rectangle of rolled dough should be. I rolled mine out very thin into a large rectangle. I believe it was about 18X10 inches. I jelly-rolled it length-wise. Other than that...5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I had to rate 4 bc the dough was so sticky that I had to add another full cup of flour. The taste and texture was yummy and I love that it made 2 loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Its so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Delicious bread! I doubled the filling recipe because I wanted it extra cinnamon-y and it was great. This would be great with a powdered sugar glaze over the top after baking. This would be a nice bread to give as thank you gifts or during the holidays. Thanks for another great bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was a really great loaf of bread! It came out soft and fragrant. My family gobbled it up. I would give it 4 1/2 stars if I could. Here are some changes I made to make it 5 stars: 1. I used butter instead of shortening (not melted, just kneaded room temperature butter into the dough). 2. I used 1 1/2 cup of warm milk (microwaved) instead of warm water and omitted the 2 T of milk. Depending on the humidity, you might need to add more or less milk to get the dough at the right consistency. (If you are substituting whole wheat flour for some of the bread flour, you might need to add more liquid as well.) 3. I soaked the raisins in hot water before drying on a paper towel. This allows the raisins to remain moist and does not cause the raisins to pull moisture from the dough during baking. 4. I kneaded the raisins into the dough (gently or the raisins will tear) to get a more even distribution. After the first rising, I then rolled out the dough, brushed the top with some water and sprinkled the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture on top before rolling up (this also prevents the rolled up dough from pulling apart after baking). Sometimes I add crushed walnuts to this mixture for a nice crunch. 5. To reduce calories, I did not use butter or brush the top of the loaf with butter. Did not miss it. Top of the loaf was soft even without the butter! Overall, delicious recipe. Will continue to make in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Awesome bread! I doubled the filling recipe and used my Kitchenaid instead of a breadmaker. Left plumped raisins for the filling. I loved the not so sweetness of the bread and used bread flour for the first time instead of AP flour. What a difference in texture! Loved it and will make again. Saving a loaf (that's hard!) for Sunday a.m. breakfast.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
A very good recipe! I am ambitious and modified it with some really good results. Follow the recipe as written except half raisins in step 2 and in step 3 I add half a can of applke pie filling and a tablespoon more brown sugar and the other half a cup of raisins. At step 5 I make crumble topping with a tablespoon of butter tablespoon of brown sugar and flour, add more sugar and flour if it doesnt roll into balls. Brush loaf with melted butter as in recipe and then sprikle crumbles over. Bake til done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I am still working on my bread making skills, and even with my limited abilities this turned out really good. We couldn't stop eating it warm right out of the oven. I don't have a bread maker so I used my Kitchen Aid and kneaded the rest by hand. It tasted great with and without raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I use five Tablespoons of sugar to the bread recipe and add at least a teaspoon and a half of cinnamon as well. When this comes out of the bread machine, I let it rise for an hour in a warm place after I've swirled the butter and brown sugar into the dough and it allows for the bread to rise. Wonderful recipe. I've made it three times now (making 6 loaves.) I'm going to experiment with whole wheat flour next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States