Cinnamon Raisin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marcy R.
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I was a little bit skeptical about this recipe after reading the reviews, but this loaf turned out great for me! I thought it was one of the best bread machine recipes I have made so far. I did substitute 4 tablespoons of sugar for the honey and I also used 1/2 a teaspoon more of Cinnamon. I loved the texture of the bread and enjoyed the taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This recipe is really good, its only problem is that it needs more than 3 cups of flour. I added about 1/2 to 1 cup extra, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I would run as far as you can from this recipe, not only did it taste awful, but the recipe is way off from where it should be. I wasted time making this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic cinnamon raisin bread recipe. I've had my breadmaker for a few years now and after using it a few times, I put it away because the bread it made was always too dry. Canadian all purpose flour is much different from US all purpose so it wasn't the type of flour~ I finally figured out it was the amount. Anything over 3 cups for a 2lb loaf is too much! Anyway, this bread turned out to be moist and delicious! It wasn't too moist, it turned out like the SunMaid Raisin Bread I buy from the grocery at $4.99 a loaf. So...sorry SunMaid, I no longer need you anymore. The only things I did differently with this recipe was added an extra tsp of cinnamon and soaked my raisins for about half an hour before adding them to the cycle. Everyone LOVED this bread and I make it weekly now. Our favorite way of eating it is to slice a very thick piece, (we have a wide-slice toaster) cutting the piece in half and popping it into the toaster. YUM! Thank you for this recipe, it's the best cinnamon raisin one I've found :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This is a good base recipe but I found I have had to make a lot of changes to make the perfect loaf. First off, CUT BACK on the yeast, both times I have made this the bread has risen to the steam vent. I stuck a knife in it it so it would settle back down, which makes a dense loaf (ok - just heavy). I also didnt have honey on hand either time and substituted brown sugar for the honey. I also add 2 additional tblsp of cinnamon and another 1/2 cup of flour. My kids love this bread, but only if spread with butter and a sprinkle of sugar. It is not a real sweet bread but it is flavorful and good toasted with sugar and butter. This is an ok recipe but I think I will keep searching for the perfect one without all the changes/additions/deletions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Excellent recipe but I also added more cinnamon - a total of about 2 tsp. It looks batter like but turned out great! I took it to work and it has been very popular. I'm making a loaf right now! Very light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
veryyyyyyyyyyy moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This recipe was DELICIOUS! But, as a previous poster noted, I also had to add an additional 1/4-1/2 cup of flour. Using the original recipe measurements made more of a batter than a dough. I love the honey in this recipe - it really adds a great flavor! Makes a HUGE 2 lb loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I used 2 cups white flower and one wheat (all a little heaping) and it turned out great. I also used milk and the egg right out of the fridge and it didnt seem to matter. Could use more cinnamon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I did this on the delay timer so the kids would have fresh bread in the morning. I put the raisins in on top, careful not to let any touch the yeast so the fruit sugar wouldn't activate it. The raisins were fine and it was good bread, even better toasted. I would like to add more cinnamon, but it too much could cause the yeast not to rise correctly, and rather than throw the ingredients away, we'll just sprinkle some on the the butter after it's toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States