Cinnamon Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I only gave this a four, but not because it's not good bread, just because I had to tweek it to get the results I wanted. Ok, I cheated. First of all I didn't want 3 loaves, so I changed the "servings" from 36 as listed to 24, so I acutally made 2/3 of a recipie. I followed the recipe exept that I used 3 teaspoons of Active DryYeast instead of the Breadmaker Yeast I use in my machine. I also added 1/8 teaspoon of cinnamon to the dough and increased the raisins to 1 cup. I put it in my bread maker (Panasonic SD-RD250) on "basic dough" and it rose so much that it hit the lid of the machine. I poured it out onto a bakeing mat, rolled it out and added the sugar/cinnamon mix and rolled it up. This amount of dough made three nice loaves in 5x9 pans, so if you make the full recipie you could easaly get four loaves or more from it. I baked fo 30 minutes as recomended by others and I now have three nice light perfectly done loaves of bread. I noticed that some of the photos showed bread that was flat and heavy. I think that might be due to trying to make too few loaves and not letting it rise enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I did 1/3 of the recipe, used an egg substitute because I was out, and brown sugar for the swirl instead of white. No raisins, cooked for 30 minutes and it was a bit more done than I would have liked. Put it in the fridge overnight after the initial rise. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
THE BEST CINNAMON RAISIN BREAD EVER! I did make a few changes for personal taste mainly. I adjusted the recipe for 2 loaves and used 1/2 cup of white raisins and 1/2 cup of dried cranberries soaked in orange rum for about an hour and drained. Also used brown sugar in place of all white sugar in the recipe. I added 2 tsp. of cinnamon to the dough and 2 tsp. of vanilla. Before second rise, I brushed melted butter and honey on top and sprinkled with rolled oats. Incredibly moist, full of flavor, and sinfully delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Found this to be a very bland (and by day two dry) raisin bread. The bread itself needs cinnamon and a touch more sugar to go with the swirl. I make a lot of bread, and this recipe will not be joining my rotation. It baked fine and looks great, but the taste is meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
OMG! This bread tastes amazing, and is easy to make. The dough is easy to handle, and rolls out nicely. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Fabulous, but didn't like the moist part!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I just made this yesterday. It turned out okay. It was dry and not enough of a cinnamon ribbon. But it sure did look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made a half batch in my bread machine tonight and it was fantastic! Super easy that way (I was short on time) but I would be willing to try it the traditional way another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
CAUTION: This bread is highly addictive! There ought to be a 12 ste[ program for it, it's that good. When visiting , my mother-in-law won't let me in her house unless I have a loaf of this with me. Seriously, it's delicious, easy to make, and makes enough to share and still have some for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Tasty but I had issues. This was the most difficult dough to work with that I've tried in a long time. I make good bit of bread, but I usually do straight, high hydration doughs with only minimal kneading and smaller quantities. I didn't know how the dough should feel for this one. Expected slightly stiff but mine was crazy sticky (added flour but didn't want to add too much). Never did pass windowpane and the dough became stickier and floppier as I tried to knead it. I didn't bother rolling and filling. Problems could have been the weather or milk or a new flour brand... I'm going to try it again and see if things improve. Gave a generous four stars because it still tasted good and problems might be with me. Next time I'll try treating it minimally like my others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States