Cinnamon Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I have made this bread several times now and everyone goes wild for it. My brother said it is what he wants for his birthday this weekend so I will be making it again. For those of you that say it comes out dry: I have never had this problem, the main reason being that whenever I make bread of any type I never add all the flour stated all at once. Work a major portion of the flour in to start then gradually knead in only what you need to make a smooth dough. I also add 2.5 to 3 cups of raisins because that is how we like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Just like my momma made it. I followed several suggestions: mixed 1/2 WW Flour with white, but refrained from adding extra flour (the bread turned out nice and moist), and I soaked the raisins in rum to soften them and give extra flavor. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe twice and added extra flour both times because I felt the dough was too sticky to knead. In each case, the bread turned out okay - it had a nice flavor but it was dry. My solution was to toast it and add butter, which made it perfect! I later watched a YouTube video showing that IT'S OKAY to have sticky dough, it recommended using a scrapper as you knead the dough. So, resist the urge to add more flour and this should be just like dad made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Left out the raisins (because I don't particularly like them) and it made three delicious loaves. First time I've ever made bread from scratch and this recipe made it easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Used this recipe in my bread maker and it was soft and delicious! I skipped out on the extra butter and cinnamon that I was supposed to roll into the dough and it was still wonderful. Compared to the standard cinnamon raisin bread recipe that came with the machine this is phenomenal and stayed fresh and soft until we finished the whole thing. The recipe from the box was so hard just few hours after sitting on the table. Great recipe and will definitely keep it for life
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My Grandson wants this every time I visit. Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2C00k

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Changes: I halved the servings, which ends up calling for 1.5 eggs. I used 2. Bread flour instead of AP. 1/2 tsp cinn in dough. Brown sugar instead of white in filling. I made one long loaf and baked it on my bread stone, but it easily could have been two. Baked for 45 min, 20 min of that tented w/ foil to prevent burning. Very good. My dream bread would be denser (eggier?) or perhaps with some pastry flour. But this bread did rise up rally well, was easy to mix and knead and work with. Very good finished consistency, will hold up well for making French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I baked a batch of this bread for the restaurant - it lasted about an hour & a half - everybody loved it. I was easy to make, although I was a little daunted about rolling the dough! Goodness know why? Anyway, I am baking a double batch tomorrow, it will be interesting to see if my first attempt was experienced baker's luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Mawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was excellent! I added more cinnamon than it called for and next time will add more raisins. My oven is a little hot so I lowered the temperature and just checked it every 5 minutes after 20 minutes. The texture was perfect and was very moist. I've not had success with a cinnamon raisin bread recipe like I have with this one. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rellorba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States