Cinnamon Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
mmmm... pudding cake. So easy and so warming. But to enhance this dessert, don't omit the apples; just add about 2 cups diced tart apples to the bottom of a 9x13 ( a 9x9 will only leave a sticky mess on the bottom of your oven). Add nuts, if using, or fresh cranberries (most fantastic) then top with batter, followed by hot syrup. Best enjoyed 5 minutes out of the oven with whipped cream (or ice cream) to cut the sweetness. mmmm... pudding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was fantastic!!! I halved the sugar in both the cake and syrup part and it worked out wonderfully. I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was a good cake. I had never had pudding cake before and this was a good first-time experience. I didn't have apples or walnuts :( So, I can't wait to try it with apples and walnuts. I'm sure it'll be even better! Next time I'll also try adding bourbon to the sauce and apples to the batter, like someone else recommended. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is a quick, easy dessert and a great way to use a few apples from the fruit bowl that have gotten a little wrinkly. I decreased the sugar in the batter to 3/4 cup and in the sauce to 1 cup. I used about 1 1/2 cups of chopped apples. I want to try this recipe with other fruits like blueberries, cherries or peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
mmmm perfect for me! I love cinnamon and this was so good. I didnt make it exactly just bc i didnt have enough sugar. so i think i used about 3/4 cup white sugar and probally the same in brown sugar. Because I didnt have enough brown sugar used one cup water and same amount of butter. I thought it was sweet enough this ways as well. Used half whole wheat flour and added 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice and full amount of cinnamon. Oh ya and I also used unsweetened almond breeze instead of milk since I cant have dairy so very easy to make this recipe VEGAN! Ok so bad about to have slice number 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Took others advice from the start & reduced both white & brown sugar. I used 3/4c white & 1c brown in the recipe. This is an easy cake to make & good both warm & cold. I will use more apple though & put some in the cake batter. My husband wanted to rate this higher, but told him 5 is tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was pretty good! From a previous bad experience that I had with a pudding cake - not sure if it was due to high altitude and the recipe needing an adjustment, I added an extra 1/2 cup flour just in case. Except for it bubbling over the top of the pan and making quite a mess (on a tray that I placed under it just in case it did that), I didn't have any problems with it. I added raisins, too, and served it with a Sunday brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is a quick dessert but much too sweet! The apple flavor is over-powered by the rich caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I had a craving for something easy and cinnamon last night, so I whipped this up. I'd never heard of pudding cake, so I didn't know what to expect, I just went from the reviews. It seemed weird how the ingredients (no eggs, no oil) could turn into some kind of cake, but it sure did! I gave it a shot and it's OUTSTANDING. It kinda reminded me of a big warm muffin with sauce. I didn't have any fruit, but I think I would try to add them if I made this again - just for the variation. This would be a great brunch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallfares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I was searching through for another cinnamon recipe and this seemed to fit -the whole brown syrup thing sounded a little, well a lot fattening so I just skipped it and made the batter, it was really quite nice-it was more like bread than cake, you could even butter it plus it wasn't too sweet, the pieces I wanted a little extra sweetness too, I buttered and put a little bit of cinnamon/white sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States