Cinnamon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The flavor of this unusual pie was excellent - delicate and delicious, but the texture was a bit gummy. As other reviewers mentioned, the Buttery Crunch Crust on this site goes wonderfully with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very good. Lite dessert that tastes delicious with pumpkin ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
It looks like I'm the only one who had this boil over in the oven.After the first 10 minutes I heard something sizzling and then smelled the burning sugar,I opened the oven door to be greeted by a cloud of smoke.I turned the heat down to 300 for the rest of the 45 minutes and that seemed to stop it from boiling over anymore.If I try this again (and that's a BIG if)I'll start it off in a 375 degree oven and go down to 300 and watch it like a hawk.And I'd put the pie plate on top of a cookie sheet just in case.The taste was only so so when I tried it but after it sat awhile the taste improved some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Very good flavor. (If you like rice pudding). It tastes very milky, and very cinnamony. Very rice pudding-y. The consistency leave a lot to be desired though. For some reason my pie seemed to split into three seperate layers. Bottom: a rather thick paste-like (flour) layer, Middle: a layer that looked like curdled milk, Top: and a brown cinnamon layer on top. I think it could use a little bit more thickening. Maybe another egg, or possibly more flour. I'm not sure, give me a couple more tries and i'll know. All in all it was good, but not great. My pie still had not set after a day, so i poured out the liquid and ate what was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tularosa, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was thin and milky on its way into the crust; and jiggly when it came out of the oven, but once it set it was a lovely custard. The top of the pie looks like the surface of the moon; not pretty but delicious. I used the Buttery Crunch Crust as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
A fantastic pie, but it still remained watery, even after cooling on a pie rack for over an hour. I think I'll cut the milk to a cup next time and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
made as written - turned out great - looked like superjae5 picture - and agree it looks thin when you put it together and it takes time to set - scrummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This pie was "TO DIE FOR". My boyfriend ate almost the whole pie watching TV last night, and finished it for breakfast. The only change I made was I used 1 cup heavy wihpping cream and 1/2 cup whole milk because that was what I had in the house. Also topped it with more whipping cream (what diet?)Thanks Sharon for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Start with all of the ingredients at room temperature and this pie will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is my favorite pie of all time although I have not used this particular recipe yet , but I can tell by looking that it will turn out exactly as its supposed to . I grew up with these . For those who don't know ,its merely a slightly different(& less expensive :) version of what , in this area, is called "Sugar Cream Pie " . If you look up that one you'll see what I mean . Its often made with a dusting of nutmeg on top , although I prefer cinnamon. Around here , its not an oddity , its a classic , often found on restaurant menus & well worth a try , but be warned , its wonderfully rich !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States