Cinnamon Pancakes in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
After adjusting the recipe to 1 1/4 cups dry mix and 1 cup milk- they turned out wonderful. This then makes 3 equal batches per jar (recipe given makes 2 1/2) Someone suggested cinnamon chips- they were great! We are putting the mix in zip lock bags and then in Christmas cloth bags tied with rafia. Thanks for everyones ideas and suggestions- they were quite helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This is the first time I made pancakes from scratch! They were great!! Per previous reviews, I also used 5 tsp of cinnamon (one of my favorite spices) and 1 cup of milk. Turned out wonderfully! I can't wait to make these as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
These are by far the best pancakes I've ever made! These are the fluffiest, just so good! I plan on giving them as gifts for Christmas in crafty jars. I put 5 tsp. of cinnamon instead of 4. You might want to use a full cup of milk as suggested. If not, they may not cook as well due to the fact that they are so fluffy! Make these up and your family will love you for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I didn't bother making this for a jar, I just went ahead and made a batch of this for the family this morning. I made the whole thing so I could have enough pancakes for a couple days. I had to play with the recipe a bit because it dosen't really come out right. The whole dry mix makes three cups of mix but the measurement of adding wet to dry asks for 1 1/3 cups of the dry which comes out to more than the recipe makes. I make pancakes a lot so I kind of knew what to use for the whole dry mix ingredients (two eggs, two cups buttermilk, 1/4 cup melted butter/vegetable oil, two teaspoons vanilla). I used a mixture of whole wheat flour and AP flour, buttermilk instead of regular milk and melted butter instead of vegetable oil. I served these pancakes with homemade maple-vanilla syrup. We LOVED them. There's just enough leftover for a small two-boy breakfast tomorrow (or a midnight snack for the husband, if he so chooses) which is good enough for me. I'll make this pancake recipe again, using my changes. NOTE: Remember that this pancake batter will be thick--so don't panic and think you've messed up your pancakes. It's supposed to look like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Prior to making these into gifts, I decided to test the recipe myself, and I'm glad I did. As other reviewers mentioned, the batter was extremely thick. I did however, try making a pancake before altering the original recipe to give the recipe the beneift of the doubt. It wasn't to my liking so I added approximately 1/4 cup of additional milk to the remaining batter. I made another pancake and decided to add a little vanilla, approximately 1/2 teaspoon. As others have mentioned, limiting the dry ingredients to 1 /4 cup to 1 cup milk would probably be the appropriate ratios for pancake batter. This would have been a 5* recipe if the dry/wet ratios were accurate. Otherwise, great tasting pancake with maple syrup. My 4 year old came into the kitchen and asked if we were having cinnamon rolls. They smelled delicious while cooking. One more note: Why would you layer everything if you only use part of the mix to make batter? You force your gift recipient to use it all or mix it up themselves and put the remaining back in the jar. I am not layering this recipe and mixing it up before packaging it. Sure, it is probably prettier by layering but just not practical with this recipe unless you plan to use the whole jar at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Very good, after modifications. I used 3 tbl. sugar, 5 tsp. cinnamon and added dried apples. I too used 1 c milk. The first reviewer was correct, this recipe doesn't measure out correctly. I added 1/2 c wheat flour the first time, and that made it 3 equal batches. The second time, however, I added 1/2 cup dried apples instead. When I measured it out, I got 3 batches, using 1 1/4 cup mix. You don't need a full cup of milk doing it that way. I'm selling these for Christmas this year. Hopefully they'll go like "hot cakes"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Loved the cinnamon taste, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Hey everybody there were only 2 of you that caught the problem with this recipe. I knew when I first read it that it can't be layered and then only use 1+1/3 cup of mix unless you empty the mix out and mix up the dry ingredients first. You need a recipe that uses the whole jar at one time or don't layer when you give it as a gift. Sorry Carla good idea but not thought all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Not bad, good flavor, and I added more milk as everyone else did. I might give some away for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
A much thicker pancake than I'm used to cooking. I freaked out about the thickness of the batter and added an extra egg, as it looked more like cookie dough. It tastes good. I may make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States