Cinnamon Pancakes in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This was a great creative gift idea! I enjoyed making these for family this Christmas. I did though discover that some things might be hard to fix, like the fact that if a person does not want to use the whole jar at once, if you do not mix it up before hand it would be hard to use. In that case, I premixed all the major ingredients and at the very top put chopped dried apple pieces and attached a clear plastic bag with cinnamon chips. I heard good things from the recipients who whipped these up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I did not make this to give as a gift. I just mixed all the dry ingredients together and placed in a Tupperware container to have on hand for busy mornings. The pancakes were pretty good and had a nice cinnamon taste. They were a bit on the dense side, though; we prefer a lighter, fluffier style pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I included this in my Christmas baskets with coffee, tea, mugs, maple syrup and a mixing spoon. It tasted good and was well received. My family likes them with extra cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
A great recipe, but I did make the following changes after reading all reviews and making them myself. When making up the jar ingredients, I put 1 cup flour first, 5 t cinnamon, 2 cups flour & then the rest. This made a pretty cinnamon layer which made the jar more attractive. To Make Batter I used entire jar (mixed thoroughly with a whisk) added 3-3/8 cups milk, 3 eggs, 3 t vanilla, 6 T vegetable oil. The pancakes were perfect! I made this for Christmas neighbor gifts. I bought country snowman fabric with hearts to put on the top of the jar, added red raffia bow, heart pancake mold and directions to each jar. I called them Christmas Morning Cinnamon Pancakes. Adorable & Different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I made a mistake and tried to combine the whole amount of dry mix with the wet ingredients. I had a lot of things going on while I was making these. I didn't realize, until the batter looked like cookie batter, that the recipe said to combine 1 1/3 cups dry mix with the wet ingredients. I added a lot of milk to try and thin it out. It got sticky and was very thick. It made thick pancakes. The flavor was good though. I'm giving it four stars because I think the liquid ingredients should correspond with the dry ingredients. I also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla and I think it added a lot more flavor than the pancakes would have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Not impressed, but great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I made these for Christmas they were great. I mixed everything together. And it looked like snow. On top of the jars I used blue snowmen fabric. They were really cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Hey everybody there were only 2 of you that caught the problem with this recipe. I knew when I first read it that it can't be layered and then only use 1+1/3 cup of mix unless you empty the mix out and mix up the dry ingredients first. You need a recipe that uses the whole jar at one time or don't layer when you give it as a gift. Sorry Carla good idea but not thought all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I had our 5 kids and their 2 friends rate this recipe--they said a 4 star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This is an excellent idea!! Others have said that it wasn't pretty enough to put in jars, but I changed a couple of things to fix that. I used the extra cinnamon that others suggested, but I also added cinnamon chips. You could use chocolate chips too. Make sure that you put these last into the jars, so that the flour doesn't cove them up. You could also use brown sugar in place of the white sugar. Use some festive cloth scraps and some ribbon or rafia, and they make beautiful jar gifts. You do need to add extra milk to make it more of a pancake pouring consistancy. But these were very rich and fluffy. Wonderful holiday morning treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States