Cinnamon Pancakes in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I'm reviewing this 2 ways: for the jar and for the recipe. Jar: There is a lot of white to this one and I think in-a-jar recipes look better in layers. To do this I used 2 c. all purpose and 1 c. whole wheat. 1 c of all purpose went first, then 1c. of wh. wheat, I put the cinnamon around the edges of the jar only, which gave it a thicker layer. Then the baking powder, etc. directly on top of the cinnamon, also around the edges. That kept the cinnamon from spreading and being whispy-looking. As for the recipe: It is pretty good, but it is very thick. Thicker than cake batter. I put an extra 1/4 c. of milk in at least. So make sure the person you are giving this to, knows what pancake batter is supposed to look like. Otherwise they will have muffins. Overall, this is a really good recipe. You won't got wrong! Oh, and we ate this with the Cinnamon Cream Syrup from this site (also as a part of our Christmas in a jar baskets) and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I would have liked more cinnamon/spice flavor. I'm still experimenting with it - it's a good base. I used 1 1/4 c. mix with 1 c. milk as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Overall easy and quite yummy! I made the dry mix and presented in a mason jar as a stocking stuffer for my boyfriend who loves breakfast. The recipe is quite thick; I tend to use a little extra milk than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made these as gifts and never tried them myself so I can't attest for their flavor. The mix smelled delicious. I ended up mixing all the ingredients together. If you layer them, your recipient is forced to mix it all together themselves and refill the jar or make the entire batch at once. (Otherwise all the cinnamon will be on top.) I bought cinnamon maple syrup and apple cinnamon tea to compliment it in a gift basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Haven't actually tried these myself but I made up a bunch of jars to go in my Christmas baskets. As stated before me, if you plan on using this recipe at different sittings, you really can't layer it in the jar. So I mixed it all up together and added chocolte chips to the mix, and now my family will each of their own Chocolate Chip Pancake mix for Christmas! I sure hope it tastes good and not justs look pretty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This recipe is awesome!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These are great! Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
oh my gosh, these turned out so fluffy and just perfect!!! i used rice milk because of dairy allergies with one kiddo and found i had to add a bit more than what the recipe calls for but that just might be due to a different consistency. i will definately make these again and again!! however, my 4 year old prefers little thin pancakes...but i presume it's so she can taste her chocolate chips better that i always add in. oh and i also did half whole wheat flour and added pecans. super super good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This recipe is awesome. I would like to state that I'm not doing the gift jar idea but merely as a premix for myself. I went with 5 tsp of cinnamon as others have suggested as well as 1 1/4 flour and 1 and 1/4 cup of milk (as I felt the batter was still too thick for my tastes.) All in all, it came out great! I have it ready for another day. I am quite happy with this recipe and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I've not made these pancakes but on principle, I wouldn't make pancakes with veggie oil as this doesn't usually yield the fluffy, easy to swallow results most want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEET_KITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States