Cinnamon Nut Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I have to say; I've tried and tasted many Coffee cakes, muffins and this one was best. I did though made addditional topping and mixed it into the batter..and made huge muffins...a wonderful Saturday delight! This one will remain in my cookbook - unplaceable =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doralee Galvan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
My family loved this recipe, and I used some suggestions from over reviewers and increased the recipe, added sour cream and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the topping. Everyone loved it so much that when we had relatives visiting I had to make it twice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
After reading all the reviews, I decided to make this exactly as the recipe reads and it was perfect! Definitely going in the recipe box and will be making this often. Baked for full 30 minutes in 11x9" pan. DO NOT CHANGE A THING. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very good very moist, the only things different I did was added the 1/2 C sour cream, and no nuts(cause I didn't have any) it didn't taste like I thought it would but it was still good. I also don't think you need to double the topping. I will make again and try it without the sour cream to see if it tastes more like coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Yummy!!! This is delicious! I prepared it this morning while reading the reviews then decided I wanted it to be fresh out of the oven when my husband got home from work so I put it in pan and covered it with foil...it was in fridge for about 4 hrs, couldn't imagine it tasting any better!!! Thanks I will make it again! Made NO changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
THIS IS THE BEST!! THATS ALL I HAVE TO SAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The best coffee cake ever! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was great because I wanted to make something, and it used standard pantry ingredients. However I was out of walnuts, so I used pecans instead, and I don't think I'd have wanted it any other way! It was great. Since the recipe doesn't specify, I also used half light brown sugar, half dark brown. To make it healthier, I used 1/2 cup apple sauce (one of the ones you'd put in a lunch) instead of butter in the batter, and I used 1 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I baked in an 8x8 dish for 40 minutes. I can't imagine having tried a larger dish, as it was I needed to coax it to the sides for each layer. It was about the perfect amount for my pan. We couldn't wait for it to cool completely, and it was amazing warm. I've had a piece since and moisture was fine. A tad dry only on the cut side, since that was exposed to the air. Still used butter in the topping - which makes way too much, I used about 2/3 of it. Definitely recommend the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This coffee cake is absolutely wonderful. It is not too dry or crumbly. I also liked that it did not get dried out overnight but tasted just as good the next day. I did not add the nuts but otherwise followed directions as instructed. I would definitely recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a good coffee cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I use an almost identical recipe from a 1940's BHG cookbook. It uses 3/4 cup sugar and 3/4 cup milk instead of the amounts listed in this recipe, for a wonderfully textured coffeecake. The cake is moist and not overly sweet. The majority of it's sweetness comes from the topping, as it should in a coffeecake. It's a good recipe to make the night before you need it so the flavors have time to develop and the moisture settles in throughout the cake. It's an outstanding coffee cake that gets raves and recipe requests from all who taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States