Cinnamon Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Fantastic! Cream usually comes in pint containers, so you can use 1 C cream with 1/2 C milk instead of the 1.5 C half-and-half. Use egg yolks instead of whole eggs if you want it slightly richer (although this recipe is almost perfect as is). Even after hardening in the freezer it was still relatively easy to scoop...The reason is that fats (inc. egg yolks) and sugar don't freeze, so don't back off too much on the sugar (or cream) if you plan on freezing it to serve later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Rich and creamy. Great mouth feel. Tastes like a Snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Wonderful! First time used 1 cup sugar and found it slightly too sweet. Made again with 3/4 cup sugar and it was perfect. Paired it with chewy oatmeal cookies to make outstanding ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
A big hit. Very rich (it is custard-based), so we just used a small sorbet scoop to serve some alongside the Thanksgiving apple pie. Everyone loved it, kids and adults. Prepare the base the day or night before to let it cool completely (called "blooming") in the fridge. Then churn the next day in your ice cream maker. The waiting makes for a smoother, creamier and more intensely-flavored finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
If I could give this TEN stars, I would. By far, the best homemade ice cream I've ever done. A few things I learned that might help you: - I doubled the recipe and forgot to take into account that it would take longer than the recipe instructions for the mixtures to heat on the stove. I stirred constantly and waited patiently, and it paid off, but it did take a long time. - I also failed to consider that, for my ice cream maker at least, the mixture needs to cool before churning. Since it was coming hot off the stove, I had to let it cool on the stove then in the fridge for a while, which added about 45 minutes to my planned cooking time. I hate taking a long time to cook, but I'm not kidding you, every minute was worth it. It was delicious and received rave reviews from our dinner guests. I served it solo and think to have served it with anything would take away from how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This ice cream is SO smooth and creamy!! I serve this with the Apple Crisp II. Insead of using vanilla flavoring, I use a Vanilla Bean paste that I got at William Sanoma. This recipe is a great base! I've also made raspberry ice cream! Just don't put in the cinnamon! Very yummy! This is a keeper! Also, I used an electric mixer to beat in the eggs so they wouldn't scramble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This ice cream is SO rich but SO good. My only suggestion is to let it ripen in the freezer before serving it; it tastes better and takes the edge off the rich sweetness. I served it with apple crisp...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is incredible.It is so creamy and is the most delicious ice cream I have ever made.I wanted a cinnamon ice cream to go with apple pie or different cookies,and this fits the bill perfectly.I could not believe how easy it is to make and what an outstanding flavor it has.Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe---it really deserves 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I love cinnamon ice cream so I was nervous about it not living up to my expectations. I LOVE this recipe and will make it again and again! I cooled the cooked mixture in an ice bath to make sure it would freeze easily. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Good, great, wonderful! Forty years ago the best dessert in the world was the hot apple pie with cinnamon ice cream on top served at Kenning's in Columbus, Ohio. This is so close. I talked about how great it came out at work. I had to make more pie and ice cream for them. They all loved it, and now I am supposed to bring it to the summer picnic. Thank you very much Elizabeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States