Cinnamon Hazelnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
you MUST try this recipe. Look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powersce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chella
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I don't do well with baking, so when I chose to make this recipe for a gift, I decided to do a practice run first. "They were fantastic!" "Looks like they came from a store!" are the comments I've been hearing all morning. I don't like biscotti, so I haven't tried them. But I trust their opinions, so I am confident they came out very nicely. I did make a few changes. And when I make it the next time, I will do a couple more adjustments. On the advice of other reviewers, I doubled the cinnamon. However, my taste testers say you can still BARELY taste it. So, I'll be using 2 teaspoons of it next time. I also used less hazelnuts than called for and I did half vanilla and half almond extract. As for working with the dough, it really is very easy to work with! If you are having THAT many problems with it, you must've really messed up somewhere, is all I can say. During the actual baking process, I baked it for 25 minutes. I tried the serrated knife, but it still crumbled a little (I am going to cream the sugar and butter VERY well next time), so I'll give a butcher's knife a try next. The second time I baked them, I left them on for an extra 5 minutes and then I just shut the oven off and left them in the oven for 15 more minutes. I was a little concerned about how crispy they'd get, but they really are CRISPY! I am thrilled with the results and am very excited to give them away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phantommn
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
First Biscotti try in my life and it worked great. It takes sometime to have the biscottis get hard as cookies, but I just left them a little longer and they were perfect. I even added some burnt cajeta, honey and brown sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phantommn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guaynabo, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
So good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
LOVE this recipe as is, but I've also used this as a base recipe (without the hazelnuts) for assorted biscotti. TIPS: As another reviewer stated, definitely take plenty of time to thoroughly cream your sugar and softened butter. Skimping on that step could give you a crumbly biscuit (not what you're going for here). Also, use a good quality pure vanilla extract -- no cheap stuff. Varieties to try: Just the base recipe (no nuts); Craisins & Pistachios; chopped pecans, etc. It's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERRADANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These were great! I had hazelnuts hanging out in my cabinet and I thought this would be a great way to use them. They were! But now I have to buy more hazelnuts to make them again! Softer and lighter than a lot of biscotti but still nice and crisp, a perfect compliment to coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly, and got great results! I found that the thicker they are, the better they turned out for me. Three things to keep in mind: 1. Take the skins off the hazelnuts. 2. Dry them out really well for that real Italian biscotti 3. Turn them over! Thank you!! Def. a keeper :) I put chocolate on them and put them out by the coffeemaker for my coworkers. They were ALL gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
just made these for the 1st time, they are great! I dipped them in dark chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States