Cinnamon Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My candy said "red hots"; and while they were certainly red, they didn't seem to add much spice to the mix. But really, it's the texture that makes this salad only "okay" to me -- the applesauce gives it a graininess that, while edible, doesn't thrill me. It's an intriguing recipe, though, and I'm glad I tried it! I appreciate your sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My great-aunt used to make this. I made again for the sake of nostalgia and I think it is quite interesting. Someone said you can used lemon jello, but I would recommend sticking with the raspberry. It's probably the best way to go in the world of strange mid-century jello salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Not bad. You can tell there is applesauce in this--the texture, and a bit of the taste is still there. Really, though, this tastes like cinnamon jello to me. Not sure the type of jello makes a huge difference since the cinnamon flavor is mostly what you taste. I don't have strawberry gelatin, but I used mixed fruit, which has strawberry in it and it worked. I cooled in 4 ramekins, which makes for the perfect serving size. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is one of our long time family favorites. My favorite flavor is actually strawberry. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Reminds me of childhood in the Midwest. My mom would make this for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I loved this stuff! but I used strawberry jello cuz I don't like raspberry. I think I started a trend because I made this for Thanksgiving potluck for my church singles group and it showed up at the Summer BBQ a few weeks ago! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
A big hit at a family dinner! Very refreshing.Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This smelled just like candy but the texture was very strange with the applesauce. Nobody would eat it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I worked in a hospital for many years and this was a standard on our hospital menu. Staff liked it as well as the patients. We used cinnamon instead of red hots, but the rest of the recipe is very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States