Cinnamon Date Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Pretty good. I probably tripled the cinnamon overall - doubling what went on top as well as adding a lot to the dough itself. I spread cream over the scone tops before sprinkling on the cinnamon/sugar mixture so it would stick better. I think next time I'll increase the dates by 50% or more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These were excellent! I took someone's advice and added about 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the dry ingredients and 1/2 cup cinnamon chips at the end, plus I substituted 2 T of applesauce for 2 T butter and the texture and taste was amazing. I might even do a 3T substitute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Lovely recipe, thanks for posting! I substituted half wholewheat flour because I didn't have enough AP flour. I added about 1/3 cup of chopped pecans, substituted the entire sugar for 2 tablespoons of agave nectar mixed into the dough and also just mixed the cinnamon in the dough because I'm lazy. Tasty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These are very good! I used raisins instead of dates and my 7 year loved them! I also added 2/3 cup cinnamon chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and substituted buttermilk for the milk and used half whole wheat flour. I didn't mean to, but I forgot to add the cinnamon and the sugar when I baked the scones. The results were amazing! The scones turned out not-to-sweet and yet with a delicious date flavor. They were a lot more like British scones than the sweet American scones which is what I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious! I had a ton of dates to use up and I thought scones would be perfect. This recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe needs more sugar in the mix. They weren't sweet enough at all, and tasted quite bland. The Simple Scones recipe on this site is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We liked these scones. My less picky child was not put off by the dates and ate them and the older one was having no problem until she spotted a bigger bite of date. I didn't have milk in the house, but I saw another review noting that they had used buttermilk, so I decided to use that instead. I added a little ground cinnamon to the flour mixture. Prep time listed is accurate. I wasn't sure how many dates go into 2/3 cups, but I packed them in and ended up using 12 dates. I chopped them all together (by hand) and found that they became a sweet mushy mess, which ended up as one big clump in the flour mixture. I used my hands to incorporate evenly, but wonder if cutting the dates individually would save this step (in any case, both ways get you the same result). I used less than half of the final cinnamon/sugar for the tops, and found that that was more than enough. The dough is VERY wet, use care when turning out. The inside was soft, but the tops felt a little dry to me, might try an egg wash or melted butter before baking next time. Sign of a successful recipe: hubby says as he gets up from table: The scones were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Absolutely yummy! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was my first ever attempt at scones. I made this recipe as written and they turned out well. Great texture, nice taste. I can also see replacing the dates with cranberries or other dried fruits. This is a very good basic scone recipe and I will be using it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States