Cinnamon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This recipe was super yummy, with my tweaks! I think what was missing for all those who thought it needed an oomph was some vanilla. I added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla, omitted the molasses (for an unadulterated cinnamon flavour) and went crazy with 2 Tablespoons of cinnamon. Definitely use real butter. Yummy! *munch, munch*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Perfect! I have never had cinnamon cookies before...but after reading the reviews, I decided to try them. I love to bake and cook...I would not change a thing. They are wonderful. Three baking tips: as one reviewer suggested, use parchment paper...they'll be even more perfect! Chill the dough just a bit before dropping them onto cookie sheets. They won't spread thin. (Because of the butter) Lastly, for perfectly round cookies that are all the same size, as odd as it sounds, shape them into squares that are 1 inch on all sides, and maybe 1/2 inch on top and bottom. They'll look like they are tall, but they *do* come out perfect. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is an "okay" cookie with the potential to be better, but as written only merits three stars. Some reviewers were disappointed that this cookie turns out flat and some of the submitted photos illustrated that. That didn't appeal to me, so in an effort to eliminate that problem I used half butter/half shortening, added an extra 1/4 cup flour, made sure not to over-cream the butter and sugar and chilled the dough for about an hour. I was tempted to reduce the amount of butter too and ultimately wish I had, because the cookie still turned out flatter than I would have preferred. Noticing this was missing, I added a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon salt and I can't imagine how flat tasting this cookie would have been without those additions. The cookie is light and crispy/chewy, with a mild cinnamon and molasses flavor - four stars with my changes. I'd call it an enhanced sugar cookie. Not a bad tasting cookie at all, but if you're looking for the cookie to reflect its name I'd increase the cinnamon significantly. Bottom line, I suppose I could play around with this even more to resolve some of its issues, but a good, well-written recipe should require no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This is a great recipe! I get 7 dozen cookies using a 100 scoop. If you work too slowly, the dough will start to dry up. These cookes spread out flat while cooking so give them room. Hint: Spray your measuring spoons (for the molasses) with vegie cooking spray and the molasses will not stick in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
WONDERFUL Recipe!!! These cookies are delightful! I added a tiny bit more flour (after the first sheet baked) so they wouldn't spread as thin. They have a light buttery-cinnamon taste and are tender-crisp-chewy. Everyone loved them. THANKS! I'll make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
A very good cookie recipe. I replaced the white sugar with turbinado sugar and eliminated the molasses, and the result is even better than the original recipe. Much more cinnamony without that molasses taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I thought these were AMAZING. Best cinnamon cookies I have ever had, if I do say so myself. Followed the recipe exactly aside from adding an eensy extra bit of cinnamon, because I really like cinnamon... :] Oh, I put a few pinches of white sugar on top before baking them as well. They had crispy edges and soft centres... Delicious! Even everyone at school and my parents loved them. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
These cookies are unlike any I've made before, and I loved them. They taste like Cinnamon Life cereal. However, I had to cook mine for a lot longer than ten minutes, and they still were mushy and flat! Not too appealing to the eye. However, the second batch I made the cookies much smaller (about the size of a walnut) and had better luck. I also sprinkled them with more cinnamon before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
These are possibly the best cookies I have ever had. I had to freeze some of them so my family would not eat them all in one day. Great for fall, curl up with a book, a mug of hot chocolate and a plate full of these.......thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I am so glad that I tried this recipe. Not only is it easy, they're delicious! It's amazing something this easy can taste so good. One quick word of advice. If you freeze the dough make sure it is thawed out before baking, otherwise, the cookies have a different puffier texture. (but it doesn't affect the great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States