Cinnamon Coffee Cake Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is a great bread that does taste just like a cinnamon coffee cake! I wanted to take it up a notch, so for the "middle", I used 1/4 c. of brown sugar vs. white, 1 & 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and for a little crunch added 1/4 c. of finely chopped walnuts. I did not swirl anything I just did a layer in between. This baked up very nicely in exactly one hour. I then drizzled a cinnamon glaze over top after it was slightly cooled: 1 c. confectioners sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. buttermilk (or milk) and 1/4 tsp. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Good, not great, not horrible. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Loved this recipe! My 7th grade students made it and it was a great recipe for them and it smelled soooo good while it was baking! I only cooked it for about 50 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. LaCasse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this and it is delicious. Very moist and tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Made this a month ago, but had to go out of town so I ended up putting it in the freezer. It had a wonderful cinnamon flavor and it was not crumbly at all, probably due to having froze it. I personally ate 1/2 of it, family was lucky to get a slice. I loved the crunchy top and next time I may make more topping because that was my favorite part. I am now going to make another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
When I prepared this the first time everyone loved.There was nothing leftat night. I must confess It takes awhile to prepared and as it is crumberly its a bit messy to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
my son loved it and he is not into loafs. It was a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I thought this was totally awesome. It took me a bit longer to prepare it than I thought, but it turned out great. I made it for my family, only my mom has been able to try it so far, but she really liked it :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaJaded

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe is a keeper! I have been making it for years, since finding it in an issue of of Taste of Home or Quick Cooking magazine. It makes a very good cinnamon coffee cake quick bread. I often make it using Saco's buttermilk powder mixed with water to make buttermilk, as I typically do not stock fresh buttermilk in my refrigerator. In place of this, baker can make a cup of "homemade" buttermilk/sour milk by adding a teaspoon of vinegar OR lemon juice into a measuring cup and adding enough liquid to equal one cup. A baker can also make individual coffee cakes using muffin tins, or a pan that has multiple small round, square or rectangular baking compartments. I work at a coffee house, and I make these as individual coffee cakes and drizzle them with a glaze of powdered sugar and milk. They are a favorite of our customers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
The taste is very very good but cutting it up was somewhat difficult as the consistency was quite crumbly. Also, because I did not have any buttermilk, I "made" some in the following way: 1 cup of milk 1 tablespoon white vinegar Mix and let sit at room temperature for 10-15 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States