Cinnamon Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Thanks, Anne, this is a great recipe. I needed something impressive to take to a BBQ on short notice and this filled the bill perfectly. I had to substitute FF Greek yogurt for the sour cream, but you would never know the difference. I also don't have a 10" tube pan so I used a 9" bundt. It just fit, whew! Instead of greasing and flouring the pan, I sprayed it with butter flavor no stick and dusted it with about 1/3 of the brown sugar cinnamon mix. I used most of the rest inside the cake and just dusted a small amount over the top. It baked up moist and delicious, but not too sweet, in 50 minutes. I'm happy to report there wasn't a crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was my first attempt at making a cinnamon cake. I didn't have all the ingredients so I substituted butter with light olive oil, brown & white sugar with raw sugar and sour cream with plain yoghurt. It was quick and easy to make and delicious! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaseblossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I loved this cake! I did add a few shakes of nutmeg to the batter which gave it a wonderful little tweak. Yes, the batter is thick to pour, but I just used a rubber spatula and it was fine. I used light sour cream to cut down on the calories and it worked great. I also think that using just a little less cinnamon would be good. I felt the cinnamon flavor was a bit strong. This is now my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very Delicious! I made mine into muffins, and just watched the baking time. They came out very moist. I added about a 1/2c fat free half n half and used Allspice in the cinnimmon/sugar mixture. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
i have made coffee cakes like this one and i choose it cause it is very good. batter is thick yes... in the middle i added some chopped walnuts. but did cut the sugar and cinnamon in the middle and top. It is baking right now so i know for a fact this will be good... ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is one of the best and simplest coffee cake recipes I've ever made. It's easy to put together and bakes up very nicely. I used butter flavored shortening since I had it on hand and followed the directions exactly. The batter is very thick and needs to be spooned into the pan rather than poured. The addition of the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture on top of the final addition of batter makes for a slightly crunchy exterior and moist, tender interior. I checked the cake after 40 minutes and it was still very under-done. After 10 more minutes the toothpick came out clean. The cake turned out beautifully after a 10 minute rest and it smelled heavenly. It's delicious, and I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This coffee cake is amazing! Super moist, easy to throw together... I made one small change and added a bit of cinnamon in the batter. This was a huge hit in my house, a "keeper" I will make often! Thanks for the recipe... I also did a quick glaze to cover the cake... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Made some changes suggested by reviewers: added a teaspoon of nutmeg to the batter, used cake flour instead of all-purpose, and substituted butter for the shortening and 2%Greek yogurt for the sour cream.. Oh .... and I added two chopped Mackintosh apples to the cinnamon mix. Pretty good; would probably add some walnuts to the apple/cinnamon mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This reminded me of the coffee cake my Mom used to make several years ago. I doubled the cinammon mixture and added chopped pecans to it. I put a layer of cinammon mixture in the bottom of my bundt pan and then proceeded with the layering as noted. The recipe states to "pour" the batter into the pan, but my batter was not pourable. It had to be spooned into the pan. This had me wondering how it was going to turn out, but it was great! Mine was done at 45 min. This cake is best served warm, IMHO. Thanks for the great recipe, WHITCOMBE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States