Cinnamon Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Given how easy it is to throw together this recipe--and how well it always turns out!--I feel that this coffee cake definitely deserves five stars. The cake batter takes only five or ten minutes to whip up and seems pretty forgiving. Though the recipe calls for one vanilla pudding mix and one butterscotch pudding mix, I've never used the butterscotch (since I never have any in the cupboard!). Instead, I've used two vanilla mixes or one vanilla and one chocolate mix. Either way, the cake has always turned out great. Also, for a little extra flavor dimension, I've added a couple tablespoons of espresso or instant coffee to the water. The addition of coffee gives the cake a nice, subtle bite--and makes it into a true 'coffee cake.' Overall, this is a moist, yummy recipe that my family members always ask for. And because it's so easy to make, this would be a great cake for beginning bakers. Thank you, Janis, for your tasty submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
HELPFUL TIPS AND WHY THIS IS 5 STARS: Everyone is right! This literally takes 5 minutes to throw together and then you've got an entire family excited you made something so pretty (submitted pic). For optional icing/toping, I put 1/2C powdered sugar and 1T of milk in a ziplock bag, cut off corner, and pour over. Looks real pretty and it's only enough to zig zag over. DEFINITELY take the advice of using Duncan Hines cake mix (white or yellow) or one that doesn't already have pudding in it. My oven is fast, and I still had to bake for 45 min at 325, so definitely check with toothpick! Also, you can use 2 pkgs of vanilla INSTANT pudding or 1 of cream cheese if you don't have butterstotch. I think putting 1/3 off batter, 1/3 off brown sugar mix, 1/3 batter, 1/3 brown sugar mix, then last of batter, last of brown sugar mix is the best. It VISUALLY looks prettier when you cut it (again, see pic), and it also isn't too overwhelming. Plus, any more layers then you don't get to taste the brown sugar mix and that's the best part right? I never put nuts b/c the kids don't like it, but if I did ...I'd use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I made this recipe LOW-FAT and it was INCREDIBLE! Seriously, it is the best coffee cake and SO moist! Instead of oil I use half a cup of apple sauce, and half a cup of apple butter. I sware you'll never know it's low-fat. I made it in a bundt pan, and layered it as follows: 1. batter 2. cinnamon mixture 3. semi-sweet chocolate chips 4. batter 5. cinnamon mixture 6. semi-sweet chocolate chips 7. batter 8. cinnamon mixture. I promise you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Since this cake adds 2 pkgs of pudding, use a cake mix that does not already have pudding in the mix. Duncan Hines is the only one I know of that doesn't have pudding added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Everyone loves this cake. I substituted a box of instant cheesecake pudding for the butterscotch pudding and 3/4 C of apple butter for the oil. I also skip the nuts, as some of us can't have them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This is truly a great cake. I followed the recipe pretty much but make a few of the changes some suggested. For example, I used two vanilla pudding packs and 3/4 cup apple sauce-1/4 oil. This recipe deserves 5 starts and I will certainly make this again. Also, I had a piece the next day, and it was ever better than the first day I made it. This cake just keeps getting better and better-I cannot say enough about it. Awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Loved it, loved it, loved it. I used cheesecake and french vanilla pudding (I'm not a huge fan of butterscotch) and made three layers that ended up swirling into a fancy "S" shape in my bundt pan. I may have overbaked it a tad because it turned out kind of dark, so I used the wonderful cover-up of dusting confectioner's sugar all over it. It was so moist and wonderful, I even caught someone picking crumbs off the serving plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
My husband loves this cake, as do we all! It's definitely best on the 3rd day, as the flavors are perfectly blended by then and the cinnamon doesn't stand out too strong. Now I try to make it 2 or 3 days ahead of time and hide it from my husband so it won't be all gone before it reaches it peak! Also, I use pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alligator, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
First off, I want to say this cake is amazing! SO good with a cup of hot coffee or tea, on a cold day. Secondly, shame on the reviewers who gave it less than 5 stars when they altered the recipe!! When you substitute ingredients for lo-cal or change amounts, etc. you can't expect good results. And to the reviewer who gave this 3 stars because he used grape seed oil? instead of vegie! the oil DOES make a difference! Grape seed oil has a distinct flavor and mainly used for sauteing, and not baking. This cake is fabulous when YOU FOLLOW THE RECIPE~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I have made this twice and both times was a huge hit. I plan to make it again for Easter brunch. I mix the brown sugar/cinnamon/nut mixture in two batches, divided evenly and make one without nuts. I am able to make one half of this with nuts for those who love nuts and the other half "plain" for the little ones who don't like nuts. I also find that if I use a little bit less than half the batter for the bottom half, it's easier to distribute the top batter over the cinnamon mixture. Thanks for sharing this easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States