Cinnamon Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great cake. I used 1/2 a cup of Canola oil instead of vegetable oil and I added 1/2 a cup of apple sauce. Also, I used 2 packs of vanilla pudding instead of the butterscotch. Another change I made was not adding as much brown sugar and adding Scor bits. The Scor bits added a nice toffee flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Hoo boy, is this sweet! I used sugar-free pudding (one vanilla and one cheesecake) and Splenda Brown, and it was still tooth-achingly sweet. Next time I will leave out the pudding and just make the cake or something...that being said, my husband is eating a big square of this with ice cream and raving about how good it is, so, to each his own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Taste is phenomenal, but the texture could be better. I would make this again, but I would definitely let it cook longer. I baked at 325 in a convection oven for 40 minutes, which should be about the same as cooking at 350 in a conventional oven, and although the toothpick came out clean, this cake is very dense and as other reviewers have mentioned, almost too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
OH SO YUMMY!!!! I made this for a family gathering at the holidays and everyone loved it. I did not ready the reviews about getting the cake mixes without pudding mix before I went shopping so I added only one package of pudding (vanilla) and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. My family told me this is a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! I was concerned it would be too sweet but it wasn't. I did use the Duncan Hines cake mix as recommended by other reviewers. I also used 2 boxes of vanilla because my grocery store didn't have butterscotch (I would love to try the butterscotch version!). I also wasn't sure why an entire cup of oil was necessary so I used 1/4 cup oil & 3/4 unsweetened applesauce (as recommended by others). I threw this together in 5 minutes on Thanksgiving morning. We had warm, fresh coffee cake with very little work. I am going to keep the ingredients for this on hand all of the time! So good & so easy. Thanks so much for the recipe!!! Oh - I also should mention that the texture of this cake was very custardy which we really liked. I was just surprised (I shouldn't have been with the pudding & eggs in there). When i cut into it, I thought it wasn't finished, but it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was very sweet. I made some changes. I don't like butterscotch so, I used one vanilla pudding and one cheesecake flavored pudding. I used 1/2 cup of vegetable oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. Used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and two teaspoons of cinnamon. (You could probably use even less, if you find it too sweet) I layered it three times instead of two. I used a bundt cake pan. You have to cook it longer in the bundt pan..... At least ten minutes. I get rave reviews on this every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Amazingly delicious and easy to whip up and clean up! I tried it with chocolate and vanilla pudding but it wasn't as good as the butterscotch and vanilla. I may try adding a layer of blueberries next time! Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluhawaii4
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Had this at friends house. We call it the Harvest Cake because thats what it "feels" like. A MUST at everyones Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Great cake. Everyone loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Steen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Everyone wanted this recipe. Only minor change was to use toasted pecans only because I love pecans. Thank you for an easy, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States