Cinnamon Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was a huge hit at my church for fellowship! I made it in a 15x10 pan because I needed 32 pieces, baked in 45 minutes. I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c applesauce as recommended. Also used nonfat vanilla yogurt & sour cream combination, 1 tbsp vanilla and brown sugar with no nuts in topping. Spread 1/2 batter in pan sprinkle with 1/2 topping, spread remaining 1/2 and sprinkle again. Looked and tasted fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this as a half-batch and baked in a loaf pan for about 35 min. I used the butter/applesauce option and also traded the sour cream for vanilla yogurt, and used the 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar combo. I really liked the way this turned out--really good flavor and a moist, spongy texture. I'm not a fan of crumbly, dry coffee cake, so I will keep making it this way. Next time I think I'll add a drizzled icing. Thanks for all of the suggestions--you all are helping me become a better baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
this is the one iv'e been searching for. i used 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar and brown sugar for the topping, sustituted oats for 1/2 of the nuts and pecans instead of walnuts. the only thing i will do differently next time is to mix a little melted butter into topping to make it more of a struesel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Great recipe. My 12 year old son baked this for our county fair last week and won first place. Thank you for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
This cake is a hit with my family. I substitute brown sugar for the white in the nut mixture, and like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lady Lake, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
A very basic coffee cake recipe--handy because I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Nice for a potluck, or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Wow, what a cake!! It baked up so tall and was very impressive! I had a huge tub of lowfat sour cream, and needed to use it up - this was the perfect recipe. The only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts (just my personal preference). I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Since I was young my mother prepared coffee cake for our traditional Christmas breakfast. She now has alzhimer's and does not know the recipe. I found this recipe and decided to use it to pass on the Christmas Coffee cake tradition. It was met with rave reviews, and I was told that it was better than my mom's (shhh don't tell). It was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
this was a real easy cake to make I halfed the recipie and it took 35-40 minutes ..everyone loved it.It is by far my fave..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
My family loves coffee cake, so I've been trying different coffee cakes. This one was pretty good. It was a little dry but we still enjoyed it!I didn't add all the cinnamon sugar mixture, I thought it would be overwhelming. But I was wrong, it needs it. So, next time I will use it all. I also used light sour cream to reduce calories. This is a great recipe, thank you Jackie for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States