Cinnamon Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was a yummy recipe! I altered it a bit by using brown sugar and a spoonful of butter in the topping and adding a tiny bit of cinnamon in the actual cake batter. It turned out awesome! I cooked it the full 70 minutes and it burned a tiny bit but it's still delicious! My only complaint is it's a bit dense. But overall it's awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm giving this a 5/5 because it is the best coffee cake I have ever eaten(and its the first time that I've made coffee cake) I made this twice. first time-I made with 1/2 organic apple sauce and 1/2 margarine omitted walnuts and used full fat sour cream. it was delicious and fluffy. second time-i made with half apple sauce again but i used low fat sour cream this time. and still no walnuts.this time it turned out denser, more dessert like. both times i had about 1/4cup of left over sugar/cinnamon mixture. just dont need that much at all. This will always be a favorite for me always YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I use 2 eggs & 1/2 cup egg sub. I also sub. Fat free sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made this great recipe even better by adding cream cheese. First, I just did a half batch and replaced half the sugar with brown sugar. I omitted the nuts and mixed the cinnamon with brown sugar instead of white. Before putting the cinnamon sugar on top I creamed 1/4 cup cream cheese with a teaspoon sugar and a splash of milk. I dropped it in blobs all over the top of the cake and used a knife to swirl it around. Then I put on the rest of the cinnamon sugar and topped it with a little extra brown sugar. I used an 8x8 pan and baked it for 35 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Pretty good cake. I think there is way too much sugar in this recipe. I cut back to 1 1/2 cups using white and brown sugar and used 1/2 cup in the walnut mixture also using white and brown sugar. I took the advice of another and added 1/2 cup of oatmeal in the topping. I did do the less fattening version and it was pretty good. I'm not sure I will make it again unless I have alot of people to feed. I ended up putting half in the freezer for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a yummy recipe (I did leave out the walnuts b/c they're not my favorite). I made it in a 9 x 13 pan & baked for the full 70 minutes. The only thing I will do differently next time is wait until the end of the baking time to add the sugar/cinnamon mixture to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Wonderful coffee cake! I made a couple of them for a party I was going to. Everyone LOVED it. One I made with no fat sour cream and you couldn't tell the difference! So if you want a lower fat version don't be afraid to use the no fat sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
totally loved the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Delicious, impressively tall cake! When I make it again though, I wont 1/3 the nut mixture between the layers, as it doesn't work as a topping and makes the cake hard to remove from the tin and cut. Instead I'll 1/2 it between the layers and perhaps make a drizzled icing topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
VERY GOOD COFFEE CAKE!! I made the following changes: pecans instead of walnuts, a combination of white & brown sugar for the 2 cups of sugar in the cake, brown sugar for the topping, a teaspoon of cinnamon in to the cake batter and a half of cup of oats to the topping. I will definitely make again- this cake smells amazing in the oven and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States