Cinnamon Coffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Pretty good....my daughter made these as a suprise for dessert.....not bad at all. She used dark chocolate chips and omitted the nuts. We enjoyed, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
i thought these were quite good,but next time i will definitely omit the chocolate chips.totally ruined it for me,but then again i am not a big chocolate fan.i used the coffee glaze from another reviewer.thanks for the recipe.very quick to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
A nice treat with a cup of coffee and the morning news. Try using Hershey's cinnamon chips instead of the chocolate chips and we prefer using pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Hubs and I both agreed there were just too many nuts, but outside of that these were unique and delicious. But... in order to amp up the cinnamon flavor I substituted cinnamon chips for the chocolate chips and what a great match that was! These are thicker than I thought they'd be, substantial. They are chewy and moist and hold together well. If I make them again I'll make them the same way - with the cinnamon chips, but I'd probably leave the nuts out altogether. (And I like nuts!) As for the coffee, you couldn't taste it, but these were so good it made no difference to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Wow these bars are really good. I followed the recipe to an exact T without the glaze, and they turned out moist and flavorful. I could really taste the cinnamon, but not the coffee at all. Also, I found out that the brown sugar really mattered - none of that white sugar replacement please! Next time I will triple the concentration of coffee required and see how it tastes. I recommend covering with a foil wrap to seal in the moisture if there is no glaze to counteract the cake being softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These were pretty good. If I make again, I would add more cinnamon and some instant coffee granules to the coffee as those flavours weren't as strong as I would of liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These are quite good. The first time I made them, I followed the recipe as written, and while I enjoyed the bars, I felt that the glaze was sickeningly sweet. The next time I made them, I used a coffee flavored glaze and I was very pleased with the end result. The glaze I used was as follows: 2 Tbsp softened butter, 1 cup confectioners sugar, 2 Tbsp strong coffee and a dash of vanilla. Beat all ingredients together. Frankly, I think the bars would be good without any glaze at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I loved the flavor combination! Cinnamon, coffee, and chocolate are perfect together in my opinion. I dissolved plenty of instant coffee in the water, but would love to try it with espresso. The amount of cinnamon was perfect. I substituted overripe mashed banana for the fat, used a bit less brown sugar, and used whole wheat flour. I definitely plan to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawaiikittychan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good, yummy combination. I used a heaping tsp instant espresso in 1/3 c hot water. Followed recipe exactly. I plan to try these flavors together in a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good but not great. The only change I made to the recipe was to use raisins instead of nuts. I did not find the coffee flavor to be noticable nor the overall taste to be anything more than plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States