Cinnamon Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Yum! I was looking for something that gave the taste of Mexican Hot Chocolate in the form of a cupcake, this worked perfectly. I made the recipe as listed and the batter made 24 cupcakes. I topped them with betty Crocker whipped milk chocolate frosting, got rave reviews. I will make this recipe again as cupcakes and as a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
this is one of the best chocolate cakes in the whole world.im really not a chocolate fan but this cake is awesome wonderful 4 wowing guests.theyll wonder how you got it so moist!def a keeper.if you havent tried it you must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missunderstood
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I really liked this cake. I used cooled coffee from my morning joe in place of the water and it really perked up the chocolate taste. Frosted with a cream cheese frosting, which I think paired well with it. A chocolate icing would have been to much chocolate (is there such a thing?) for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was the absolute BEST chocolate cake my family and I had ever had! The sour cream made it nice and moist, though it was very, very rich. If you don't like richness, I would suggest using a regular chocolate cake mix instead of the devil's food cake mix. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe! For a little variation I tried adding 1 (3.5 oz) melted chili chocolate bar and 1/2 tsp of red chili powder. It gives this already delicious cake a little heat after each bite. You may need to add a little more water if the chocolate bar thickens your batter too much. Thanks for the recipe, surely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I had some sour cream to use up, so I decided to try this recipe. I doubled the recipe and used a box of German Chocolate cake mix and a box of chocolate cake mix because that's what I had on hand. Instead of two-layered round cakes, I made two 9" x 13" cakes with my two boxes of cake mix. One can of chocolate frosting was sufficient to frost both cakes. This tasted like a good basic chocolate cake, but I didn't feel that the sour cream, cinnamon, and vanilla extract did much to enhance the flavor of the cake. For tastier and lower fat ways to doctor up cake mixes, I recommend "Wonderful Banana Cake" and "Apple Cake III" from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Very easy with excellent results. Moist cake with hint of cinnamon that makes it really special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Although very easy, this cake was delicious! the extra ingredients did help perk up the plain cake mix. I used fat-free sour cream to save calories, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLOVE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is an excellent and fast layer cake. I whipped in up in no time - and it didn't last long on the table either! The cinnamon really gives it a great taste and with cake mix as an ingredient, you can't go wrong! I used vanilla frosting instead of the chocolate as I thought it would be too much chocolate. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States