Cinnamon Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Yum! I was looking for something that gave the taste of Mexican Hot Chocolate in the form of a cupcake, this worked perfectly. I made the recipe as listed and the batter made 24 cupcakes. I topped them with betty Crocker whipped milk chocolate frosting, got rave reviews. I will make this recipe again as cupcakes and as a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
this is one of the best chocolate cakes in the whole world.im really not a chocolate fan but this cake is awesome wonderful 4 wowing guests.theyll wonder how you got it so moist!def a keeper.if you havent tried it you must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missunderstood
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I really liked this cake. I used cooled coffee from my morning joe in place of the water and it really perked up the chocolate taste. Frosted with a cream cheese frosting, which I think paired well with it. A chocolate icing would have been to much chocolate (is there such a thing?) for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was the absolute BEST chocolate cake my family and I had ever had! The sour cream made it nice and moist, though it was very, very rich. If you don't like richness, I would suggest using a regular chocolate cake mix instead of the devil's food cake mix. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe! For a little variation I tried adding 1 (3.5 oz) melted chili chocolate bar and 1/2 tsp of red chili powder. It gives this already delicious cake a little heat after each bite. You may need to add a little more water if the chocolate bar thickens your batter too much. Thanks for the recipe, surely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I had some sour cream to use up, so I decided to try this recipe. I doubled the recipe and used a box of German Chocolate cake mix and a box of chocolate cake mix because that's what I had on hand. Instead of two-layered round cakes, I made two 9" x 13" cakes with my two boxes of cake mix. One can of chocolate frosting was sufficient to frost both cakes. This tasted like a good basic chocolate cake, but I didn't feel that the sour cream, cinnamon, and vanilla extract did much to enhance the flavor of the cake. For tastier and lower fat ways to doctor up cake mixes, I recommend "Wonderful Banana Cake" and "Apple Cake III" from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Very easy with excellent results. Moist cake with hint of cinnamon that makes it really special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Although very easy, this cake was delicious! the extra ingredients did help perk up the plain cake mix. I used fat-free sour cream to save calories, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLOVE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is an excellent and fast layer cake. I whipped in up in no time - and it didn't last long on the table either! The cinnamon really gives it a great taste and with cake mix as an ingredient, you can't go wrong! I used vanilla frosting instead of the chocolate as I thought it would be too much chocolate. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States