Cinnamon Bun Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I cut this in half and used butter instead of margerine and used a full teaspoon of vanilla. This worked out perfectly. Half a recipe was just right for twelve cinnamon rolls.....maybe just a touch overkill, but the family will love that. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Good base recipe, but calls for far too much sugar for my tastes. Tasted perfect after adding just one cup of confectioner's sugar to the rest of the ingredients, but then I added a half-cup more sugar (trying to stay somewhat true to the recipe) which made it too sweet and really cut down the delicious cream cheese taste. Next time I will stick with the one cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I substituted neufchatel cheese to make the cream cheese taste less overpowering and keep the same consistency. I used this recipe over some cinnamon rolls I took to an early morning tailgate and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This icing is absolutely delicious! Even my finicky husband loves it, which is saying a lot. The only change I made was to substitute unsalted butter for the margarine. I used it both on cinnamon buns and a banana cake. It was great on both and is so easy to make. It tastes so good that I could eat it by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Too stiff... maybe add more milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raising24God

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
SO GOOD! this was exactly what i was looking for, and made the cinnamon buns so much better. it even held its form overnight at room temperature, which i was worried about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
tried this for the first time during a snowed in weekend - puts my cinnamon buns right over the edge - friends, family, neighbors are now beating down my door - I can't keep up - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rab124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent, I used this on my Herman Cinnamon buns and it's perfect. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Creams, and will melt to a glaze over hot buns. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was awesome! Simple to make and tastes great. I used it to ice a raisin loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States