Cinnamon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Why, oh why, are so many reviews filled with their modifications of a recipe and then rated? I made this exactly as stated and it was a wonderful alternative to the yeast cinnamon breads I usually make, and half the time too. I do not normally have buttermilk so I use a substitute; 3TBS vinegar,add enough milk to make one cup and let stand ten minutes. Voila buttermilk, has always worked for me without fail. Such a moist bread with the perfect amount of cinnamon flavor. I made double the topping, did layers of batter, topping, batter, topping and slightly swirled it to perfection! So pretty and yummy! I mixed the dry and wet ingredients separately and was unsure of how to beat it ( hand or electric?), so into the kitchen aid it went on medium for 3 min. No problems at all. I love this recipe and will continue to make it in the future. I made Brandy Apple Butter also from here to accompany it, pure deliciousness, Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I quadrupled the recipe, made four perfect loaves I used for New Year's gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Just made this for the first time. Did it in a Bundt pan to maximize the crust (good call) and as others suggest I mixed the wet/dry ingredients separately before mixing together. I may add more cinnamon next time (or just do all fresh ground), but overall was really satisfied with the results. I didn't find it bland at all, but rather as having a light, pleasant flavor. Tomorrow I'll toast a slice with a little butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I read the reviews and doubled the topping using brown instead of white sugar and used butter instead of margarine. Used 1/2 applesauce and half canola oil,put half of the filling in the middle and half on top and swirled it. Awesome!! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Davitt Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delish! This bread was super easy. A great quick bread when you want something warm, not too sweet or fussy but full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buns N the Oven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is the second time I've made this recipe, and I really like it! Nice breakfast bread that uses ingredients I always keep on hand. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because 50 minutes wasn't quite enough time; it needed about 10-15 minutes more. But it turned out wonderful and delicious--nice for a change of pace in the morning. Would probably be even more awesome with raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Fantastic! I actually made this vegan and gluten free by subbing for a flour mix, flax eggs, margarine, and coconut milk (soured with ACV, and it is great! Very dense, moist, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Mock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I had to give 4 stars because of modifications..mix wet ingredients separately from dry..then mix together..DO NOT BEAT OR MIX FOR 3 MIN...ONLY UNTIL WELL COMBINED...I tripled the topping and I put half in centre..I also used allspice cinnamon and nutmeg in crumble...I only used brown sugar and real butter...this is a delish cake/bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
LOVED THIS! When I saw this, it looked so easy to make so couldn't help but try it right away. My husband and I both cut this while still warm and were very very impressed!! After reading a few reviews, I had made the following adjustments. 1) I mixed the dry in one bowl and wet (including the sugar) in another. Then added the dry to the wet and mixed just until combined (do not over mix). Similar to the process when making muffins 2) For 1 cup buttermilk, I used 1 tbsp lemon juice and then added milk to measure 1 cup. I've always substituted buttermilk this way. This simple trick always works well 3) I doubled the topping. 4) I lined the loaf pan with parchment paper. This allows easy removal from the pan (just lift the paper on the long sides and lift the loaf right up and out). This also makes for amazingly easy cleanup! 4) I put half the batter and sprinkled half the topping. I cut through and swirled (minimal) with a knife. Then repeated with the 2nd half of batter and then remaining topping. Again, swirled through with a knife. Eat it plain or with a little margarine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
One of the best recipes. Will 100 % do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States