Cinnamon Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Wow, I have NEVER tasted a better muffin in my life and I am not kidding!! Although I always try to lean my recipes out a bit to make them more healthy. I used FF Half/Half and substituted applesauce for the butter with just a splash of olive oil. I also use Whole wheat or Oat bran Flour and mix half and half with the white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
I used sour eggnog and it was also a nice flavor enhancement. They were a huge hit at the office and I'll make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
I loved this recipe,moist and yummy. I will only use 5 ounces of cinnamon chips next time- the entire bag was too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I really liked the idea of this muffin, but the recipe as is doesn't work. I revamped it as follows: 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour 1/4 cup brown sugar 1 tsp each of baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and vanilla 1 1/2 cups buttermilk 1/8 cup canola oil 1 egg 1/2 cup cinnamon chips In a large bowl combine all the wet ingredients, mix throughly. Add cinnamon, baking soda and baking powder. Add flour and stir until almost all flour is mixed in, add chips and stir to combine. Fill greased muffin tins, I got 12 large muffins, bake at 350, check at 20 minutes, my oven bakes hot, should take 20-25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great use of a wealth of bran cereal I was gifted. I bought a bunch of bags of Hershey's cinnamon chips right around Christmas and stuck what I didn't use in the deep freeze so I was able to make these without substitutions. I ended up making a half recipe of this--12 muffins. To make it a little healthier, I used whole wheat white flour and cut the buttermilk by half and substituted homemade organic applesauce. I actually got exactly 12 muffins out of a half recipe of this--that almost never happens! 12 big muffins, as a matter of fact. 350 degrees for 20 minutes and they were perfect. Good with the cinnamon chips but I think these would be just as good with dried fruit (like raisins) or even chopped apples. It's really a good base for you to play with and make healthier (if you so desire) or throw in whatever you may have on hand. NOTE: The recipe does not say to soak cereal in milk. I've made bran muffins before out of bran cereal and I've always had better results if I soak the cereal in the milk/liquid for about 10 minutes before adding in the other ingredients. If you soak it, you won't have such an issue with wet batter, too. I think using whole wheat white flour helped with that a bit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This is a nice muffin. I especially like the "cinnamon chips" thing! It adds flavor and texture. Some reviews rave about this recipe as being so "healthy"- but I beg to differ. Don't get me wrong, these are really good, but eating a muffin is like eating a piece of cake (flour, butter, sugar, etc). Just because you throw some bran in a recipe, isn't going to make it "healthy." :) This recipe is definitely tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOE123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Great recipe! Very yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I had to add about an extra cup of flour because the batter was really runny, and I didn't use the cinnamon chips because I didn't have any--just increased the ground cinnamon. They were awesome--we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I have to say this is the best bran muffin recipe I have ever made AND tasted!! The cinnamon gives these muffins a delicious flavor, and the buttermilk adds an incredible moistness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
The batter seemed too moist, but the muffins came out with an okay consistency. Overall the muffins were okay, but not exceptional. Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States