Cinnamon Apple Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made this for a potluck dinner--it was a huge success, received many compliments and requests for the recipe! I was a little short on time so I skipped the pre-boiling step. I cut the sweet potatoes and apples in 1/4" slices, used gala apples so reduced the sugar to a generous 3/4 cup. Combined apples, sweet potatoes and sauce in a large mixing bowl and mixed until well coated, then put into baking pan coated with no-stick spray and cooked for about an hour. Delicious!! Thanks for the yummy recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Hey try putting bacon in it sometime!!! My mom makes this same thing every year but adds bacon .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Was a great change from the same ole sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've made this for a few years now and it's a wonderful recipe - it's become a tradition in our family. My method is a little different than the recipe as I don't like to boil the sweet potatoes and lose ANY nutrients, so I slice the sweet potatoes and apple about 1/4" thick, then layer them starting and ending with potatoes. I allow my layers to be "porous", not covering ever speck of space so that the sauce can meander throughout. This year I used Honeycrisp apples, so reduced the sugar to a scant cup as they are sweet & tried adding vanilla as another reviewer suggested. I bake it until the potatoes are tender, not really caring how long it actually takes - an hour or so. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Great recipe. People please read the instructions carefully its says 1 1/4 teaspoons not cups. I did add some vanilla and a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummzak010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
REREAD the recipes it's 1 1/4 TEASPOONS NOT CUPS 1 1/4 CUPS of SUGAR=^..^= and I like Granny smith apples and some Brandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bnrudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I searched for a recipe utilizing apples and sweet potatoes as I had a couple of apples and one sweet potato handy. I peeled and sliced the s. potatoes before cooking them for about 7 minutes. I didn't have any cornstarch and of course used less of the other ingredients: 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 cup white sugar, approx. 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon, a few scrapes of whole nutmeg, and added a total of 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons of Nocino (walnut liqueur). Thanks for providing a good basis for my culinary experimentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RomaLisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is absolutely delicious and tastes like autumn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizgrace03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This didn't turn out well at all. The sauce was gelatinous and had a strange texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wadjet25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving, I usually use peaches but the apples really gave it a new flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Karen’s Cranberry Apple Sweet Potato Packet

Sweet potatoes, apples, and dried cranberries bake in a tasty brown sugar sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States