Cinnamon Apple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I cooked it exactly as stated. It has semi jelled. The next time I either need to add another box of sure jell or decrease the amount of apple juice. I personally would only use about 3/4th cup of red hots and it was too spicy for me but everyone else loves it just like it is. I have not been able to find apple cinnamon jelly in the store in years now we can have an endless supply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this recipe and although I like it, I am having a hard time figuring out what it goes well on. I also think the red hots made a little too much impact on the taste, next time I will cut the red hots down by half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This jelly turned out beautifully and tastes great with just the right amount of cinnamon. I followed the directions and it set up perfectly. The key is to measure the sugar exactly and not use less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
For those of you that have problems with it gelling, just add it back to the pot and cook a little bit longer. Do a cold plate test (plate put into the freezer for a bit) to see if it is to your likeness as far as it's thickness goes. Add the syrup to the cold plate and wait one minute. This is how your jelly will set up. This goes for any jams or jellies. No need to add extra pectin! I added more candies to mine as I wanted a spicier jelly and put a few pinches of cayenne pepper in it. This turned out fantastic! I'm thinking of substituting this jam for the apricot jam and making the Rustic Autumn Fruit Tart on this site....it would make a nice spicy apple dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This jelly is really good but we discovered that it sets better if it is cooked longer and on medium heat rather than high heat. The batches that were made cooking on high did not set as well as the batches made on medium heat. We found that if you cooked it for 15-20 minutes (after adding the sugar) at a boil over medium heat that the results were much better. VERY YUMMY though - a wonderful sweet surprise. If it doesn't set as jelly it's great as a pancake syrup or over ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
The cinnamon is a bit strong, and there isn't nearly enough pectin. I added another half a package when mine didn't look like it was going to set up (I tested with an ice cold spoon) and the jelly is still soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is the first time that I have made jelly. It was easy and turned out wonderful. Good for Christmas because of color (red), but when I think of fall, I think apples. This is perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tnlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I cut out the red hots and add a dash of cinnamon. I will never run out of jelly again. I have fruit trees and a great recipe. works better than the recipe on the fruit pectin directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy latta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blountsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I must be an idiot, with all these fab reviews. I had to decrease the sugar in the recipe, with family sugar concerns. Well, it never did jell. Sigh! Well;, I guess I have apple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Tastes like the Christmas punch you can make in your crockpot with apple juice and red hots. The jam wouldn't gel when I halved the recipe; I'm not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States