Cinnamon-Apple Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I love this recipe. The dried apples make it very good. I actually doubled the apples and raisins, my favorite part of it. lol...Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Workman
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Very Tasty!!! I added dried cranberries with apples instead of just apples (found next to the raisins at the grocery store). Also wait longer then 5 mintues to put the yogart covered raisins...otherwise they will start melting. I did wait about 15 and some still did melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was good, but I microwaved it longer than I was supposed to after adding the apples because they didn't appear brown as the directions said they should. Now some of the apples are hard or too chewy, so next time I will be sure to only microwave it for the time it states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love this recipe but I like to make a few changes. First instead of almonds I use dry honey roasted peanuts, second I use regular raisins instead of yogurt covered raisins. I love the changes gives it that added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Excellent sweet snack mix...really nice blend of flavors. I halved this recipe and fudged on the measurements, and it still came out perfect! Even my picky husband likes it. I substituted cinnamon Chex, added dark chocolate-covered raisins, and about 1 cup of apple-cinnamon Cheerios to the mix, and it is wonderful. I also found some cinnamon-flavored apple chips to use in place of dried apples- these have a little crisper texture than plain dried apples and great flavor. Great autumn snack mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a really big hit. I made 2 batches separately and doubled the cinnamon in the second batch because the first was not cinnamony enough for me. I mixed them together and it turned out great. I went to Whole Foods for the dried apples (in the bulk aisle) and then saw they had them at Wal-Mart! My dad has requested another batch for Christmas and asked that I add cashews as well. This was very easy to make and tastes great! It's not super sweet but it is very addictive! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Awesome. Perfect for Turkey Day or any fall event. Very different from traditional chex. Couldn't find just dried apples. So I used a dried fruit ix that had apples AND Cranberries. Cranberries are a must in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Everyone loved this. I used homemade apple chips in place of dried apples. I sliced granny smith apples with a mandoline, put them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and sprinkled with a pinch of cinnamon sugar. Baked at 200 for 2 hrs. They keep their color and taste wonderful in this mix. I cooked it all on the stove stirring constantly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
At first this recipe started out with small microwave fire, followed by a painful, but easily treated first/second degree burn. However, with a little tweaking (addition of chocolate covered peanuts, cinnamon chex) the final result is quite good. My only advice would be to check the wattage of your microwave, evidentally mine is set on nuclear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is a nice "fallish" Chex Mix recipe. The cinnimon flavor is not too over powering or too sweet. Instead of microwaving, i baked the batch at 200 for 1hr.. mixing at 20 min intervals. I too, couldn't find dried diced apples and had to use apple rings then cut them up. I think next time will either leave out the apples or wait until I do find diced dried apples. I also added rice chex to the mix cutting the wheat to 3 cups and the rice to 2. Ok overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States