Cinnamon-Apple Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I make lots of changes to it when I make it, but the most important one to me is that I DOUBLE the recipe for the glaze! I like it soooo much better when there is more glaze, makes it sweeter and more crispy. I made TONS of this and sent it to my husband and his unit while they were in Iraq last year. It travels well, and stays fresh for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is fantastic for a sweet treat. I used Crispex because I needed the mix to be gluten free. I made my own dried apples with some apples that were on their last legs. I used craisens instead of yogurt raisens. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
My grandma really liked this a lot - I used yogurt covered cranberries instead of the raisins as a matter of preference. A nice addition to the snack mix collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a really big hit. I made 2 batches separately and doubled the cinnamon in the second batch because the first was not cinnamony enough for me. I mixed them together and it turned out great. I went to Whole Foods for the dried apples (in the bulk aisle) and then saw they had them at Wal-Mart! My dad has requested another batch for Christmas and asked that I add cashews as well. This was very easy to make and tastes great! It's not super sweet but it is very addictive! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
A little too good. I used Barbara's Shredded Spoonfuls cereal instead of Wheat Chex (didn't have it at the store)..it's a tiny bit lower in calories and is multi-grain. I used the New Zealand apple rings from Trader Joes (I sliced these) and handmade yogurt covered raisins from Fresh and Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Awesome. Perfect for Turkey Day or any fall event. Very different from traditional chex. Couldn't find just dried apples. So I used a dried fruit ix that had apples AND Cranberries. Cranberries are a must in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This snack is delicious! The only apples I had access to were a dried cranberry and spiced apples mix. The flavors blend amazingly well. We usually have muddy buddy mix at holiday gatherings while we cook and visit, this was an excellent change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I couldn't find dried apples, so I baked fresh apple rings sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and then cut them. I also added banana chips and chocolate yogurt covered raisins. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Very Tasty!!! I added dried cranberries with apples instead of just apples (found next to the raisins at the grocery store). Also wait longer then 5 mintues to put the yogart covered raisins...otherwise they will start melting. I did wait about 15 and some still did melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is a nice "fallish" Chex Mix recipe. The cinnimon flavor is not too over powering or too sweet. Instead of microwaving, i baked the batch at 200 for 1hr.. mixing at 20 min intervals. I too, couldn't find dried diced apples and had to use apple rings then cut them up. I think next time will either leave out the apples or wait until I do find diced dried apples. I also added rice chex to the mix cutting the wheat to 3 cups and the rice to 2. Ok overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States