Cinnamon-Apple Cake AKA Hanukkah Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The first time I ever tried baking a cake I tried this. Worked a treat, came out tasty and juicy, everyone was impressed and it dissapeard quickly. The sugar on the top did look like it started to burn a little even after around 50 mins so I took it out thinking it might not be ready yet inside, but it was fine, tasted great. I guess I need to just learn how to spot when it's ready. I am now however amazed at how much sugar goes into cakes! are they all like this?? very tasty and easy to understand instructions. nice one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Oh my goodness this was the most delicious cake I've ever made! My husband and I made this one night and I couldn't be any more impressed with this recipe. My hubby is hard to please so for him to fawn over this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I do have to say this cake is very moist and very dense in a very delicious way. The cream cheese adds a bit of tang and a rich, almost creme like texture to the cake that is most noted throughout the center. My favorite part was the crusty top and sides. Nice change of pace from the traditional Jewish Apple Cakes I am familiar with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good flavor! The cream cheese really adds to this. Wonderful as is, but may add a few nuts to the topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This cake was gone in less than 24 hrs. The recipe is perfect as is. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is one of the best, easiest cakes I've ever baked!!! Very moist and very flavorful. I would highly recommend it! I did do half white and half brown sugar in the cake because I like the richness brown sugar adds. Other than that, followed the recipe as written. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This cake is delicious! I made this cake for my mother in law's birthday and everybody raved about it. I wanted something that wouldn't be too sweet and this cake was perfect! The cream cheese really makes this cake stand out. I will be giving out the recipe at Thanksgiving. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Excellent cake. The only thing I would suggest is decreasing the sugar. We found it a tad too sweet...but the flavour is otherwise outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpilchak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Okay, this was great. I followed the recipe. It was moist and so flavorful. I don't think I have ever tried a recipe here and liked it so much. This is a keeper and I will add it to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe! The cake was very easy to make and came out perfect. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADHOUSENMICH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States