Cinnamon and Lime Chicken Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I have to agree with the others on this one. It was tasty, but needed a little zip. I heeded the adviec of others and made these changes which made the recipe even better. I cut the recipe in half so note accordingly. I cubed the chicken and tossed with the cinnamon and cooked for less time, about 15 min. I used a half of a jalapeno, a whole garlic clove, i added cayenne to the potatoes before going in the oven, the whole lime, a bell pepper with the onions, olive oil in stead of canola, and lots of cilantro right near the end. the potatoes needed a little non-stick as well, but otherwise, different, and really a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is my recipe...submitted long ago and never realized it got published...looked at the original recipe and realized the reason many say the chix is dry is that they published the cooking temp for the potato not the chix...lower the oven temp for the chix...or lower the cook time. So honored it got published and enjoyed...guess I should make it again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYSSYLOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
yay! i didn't change much in this recipe, but I did use sweet potato instead of regular potato, cuz it's better for you tastes better too, IMO. My husband said it was one of the best dinners I've ever made.... and we've been together 12 years so that's a lot of dinners! I served it with some NO FAT sour cream, which was a good call because it would have been too dry without being able to dip it into some cream, but that said, it was way yummy and i'll def make it again. And it's not bad for you either, so it gets all five stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was surprisingly tasty! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used flour tortillas instead of corn (all we had). We are pretty picky, but we definitely did enjoy these - but we expected a little more of a kick. Next time, we will add a little cayenne to the potatoes before baking to give them a little more spice. Also, I think that coating just the outside of the chicken with the cinnamon mixture didn't really allow the cinnamon to stand out as much. Next time, I think we will cut chicken breasts into slices or cubes, toss in spice mixture and then cook (so cinnamon covers more surface area). Also, the jalapeno didn't add anything and we even used ALL the seeds! Next time we'll add in at the end so that kick is not lost in the cooking. We'll also use 2 limes to enhance the lime flavor. It needs a little help to be 5-stars but this is overall a great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I give this recipe a 4 only because these were on the dry side. I will make them again but will probably shred a roasted deli chicken or moisten the chicken with broth before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYCAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
One of my regulars!! This one is a family favorite. The potatoes took longer to brown than the recipe stated, so start them first. I omitted the Jalapeño and used a chopped Chipotle in adobo sauce. I served it with sour cream, colby jack cheese, guacamole and a tossed salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Fantastic! I made this exactly like the recipe, except that I added a bit more jalapeno. I was nervous because the cinnamon seemed like it would add a strange taste, but it was perfect. My husband, who is a very picky eater, absolutely loved it! We ate them without any cream or toppings, and they were great. The corn tortillas were a must. This will be a new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Fabulous! I marinated the chicken using Super Fajita Marinade for a few hours and then coated the chicken with cinnamon. I used the marinade to coat the potatoes and cooked the chicken and potatoes together for 30min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Amazing!!!! So deliciously different. If I could give this one 10 stars, I would. I didn't change anything except an additional tablespoon of jalapenos, and a tablespoon or two of finely chopped cilantro to the skillet mixture. I LOVED the cinnamon, it blended perfectly in the recipe. Will make again and again, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This recipe was good, however, the Tablespoon of cinnamon is way too much - I would use maybe 1/4 to 1/2 of a tablespoon. It just made it way too spicy, however, it adds a good flavor. I recommend for any fajita recipe to buy a lemon and squeeze it over the chicken immediately before serving it. It gives the chicken a great taste and it is my absolute favorite thing to do with fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States