Cinnamon and Lime Chicken Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I'm rounding up from 3.5 stars. I think this recipe has a lot of potential and it is so different from a lot of the things I tend to make. Definitely needs cayenne or something to add a little pep. I will also try putting in the potatoes in to cook for about 20 minutes and then lower the temp to 350 and then stick the chicken in too and cook both for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
It was delicious! My husband has even requested it again; I’ve made it 3 times this month! I did take other’s advice and added cayenne pepper to the potatoes, cubed the chicken in smaller pieces (to get the cinnamon to cover more surface area), cooked the chicken for 15 minutes, added broth to the chicken in the skillet, and added the jalapeños at the very end. Great recipe, I would have never imagined putting cinnamon on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was fantastic. However, I modified this a bit. I cooked the chicken in a 350 degree oven for an hour coated in the cinnamon/salt/pepper mix. I did this in a foil packet. I added another foil packet of the potatoes coated with olive oil, chili powder, old bay, and tony catchers all spice after 15 minutes. After I pulled the chicken, I added more cinnamon for taste. I didn't use jalapenos, but instead added hot sauce to the garlic/onion mixture. I also tryed the corn tortillas, but flour tastes so much better with this dish. Next time I am going to use some more lime juice. However, this is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I took many suggestions for this recipe and kept them in mind - I used sweet potatoes, thinly sliced breasts of chicken rubbed with cinnamon, chili powder, salt, and pepper - i cooked with olive oil in pan.... then sauteed red peppers, anions in pan until soft, mixed everything together in a whole wheat soft tortilla, topped with fat free plain greek yogurt - cilantro, and a squeeze of lime! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is fantastic! Add cilantro for more of the Mexican flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
These were fantastic. The lime flavor in the chicken was so interesting and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Thought this was a very light meal that was great! I got mixed reviews from my children but surprising enough, my picky eater actually liked it. That's a plus for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
We were so pleasantly surprised by this. Not too spicy, not too bland just plain good and yummy. I made the potatoes in toaster oven while the chicken cooked. I used a pretty large chop on the jalps because I wanted to be able to keep them out of my 2-yr old's portion. I also used red skinned potatoes and left the skin on. The only changes I will make next time is using Montreal Steak Seasoning on the potatoes and slicing the onion rather than chopping it. The potatoes were different but so good, all in all a great recipe with a good twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
AWESOME recipe AlyssaLyn! My husband said the cinnamon "threw him off" and made him think of cinnamon toast...but my husband is a weirdo when it comes to things like this...in any case, he finished his plate! ;) So a finicky eater may balk....but anyone with a normal brain and taste buds is going to LOVE this! I ended up using some cayenne pepper on the potatoes, because we love spice...but I only used a bit. I also ended up having sour cream on some of the fajitas...it was good with and without! I wasn't sure how the flavors in play were going to come together on this one...but it was really too good to be true! Just a perfect balance...the jalapeños made me remember why I love jalapenos so much..the lime was perfect with the cinnamon..the whole thing just came together. Also...and this is really secondary...the fact that the prep was so quick and then the somewhat lengthy baking times for the potatoes and chicken gave me plenty of time to clean as I went and tend to sniveling children while cooking...I know that doesn't REALLY matter, but with an 8 week old and a 19 month old...it was nice! Very easy to make, very easy to eat...very easy to give it five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
SOOOO Yummy!!! The potatoes REALLY add a newe texture to fajitas that I've never experienced before. I took other comments into consideration and cut up the chicken and seasoned it before baking. I put the chicken and potatoes in the same baking dish at 350. After 30 minutes I took the chicken out, but let the potatoes cook for 15 more minutes. I made this for my husband and followed it up with some white chocolate creme brulee - we were both pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Check out these lime flavored chicken soft tacos.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States