Cinnabon® Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paisley J
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I love this recipe. I swirled the cinnamon syrup in the batter to give better coverage and cinnamon in every bite. Came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Was not all that bad, but I am not sure why would you try to dissolve sugar in butter for syrup. It will not happen. Just melt sugar, than add butter (and I added some cream as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
It was fantastic! The only problem was that the brown sugar didn't dissolve in the butter. Also, in my opinion, I swirled the cinimon in with the batter instead of pouring the teaspoon on top. Other than that, the cupcakes were AWESOME!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I thought the recipe was great...feels kind of complicated, though...but I can't really see another way to shorten the process. For those with brown sugar/butter issues : it takes several minutes. It's not an instant reaction. You need to stir longer than 2 minutes. I have made syrups & caramel enough to know it will eventually dissolve...and I don't keep my heat too high to prevent burning. It goes from okay to not okay really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I didn't have much time, so I made a doctored white cupcake recipe, then used the frosting and cinnamon sugar recipes from this to turn them into Cinnabon cupcakes. Delicious! I found the cinnamon sugar sank to the bottom of the cupcake when I swirled it in the batter, but who cares, you taste it with every bite regardless. The frosting was great, if a bit sparse if you want to pipe it on (I used a knife and it was fine), and the cinnamon-sugar pecans on top were a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Maybe I shouldn't have made these on a rainy day. I would give 3 stars but since I didn't make the frosting I will give 4 (I don't want to get punished for not rating the whole thing) Anyway, the cupcake is okay in the tasty department. I am sure if I made the frosting it would all work great together. I thought I left enough rising room for the cupcakes but I didn't so they cooked over giving that flat top. I also sprayed my pans with baking spray and even doing this the cupcakes were so sticky that many made it out of the pans broken.(frowns) Since they were such a mess this is why I didn't make the frosting. I liked the flavor of the syrup but as another reviewer pointed out the brown sugar doesn't melt down, you end up with a buttery sugary crunchy syrup. I am just going to eat them with the crunchy syrup on the cupcakes and call these my mock no fry churros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Doc Simonson
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
The flavors were very good, but the cinnamon syrup was problematic. Brown sugar doesn't dissolve in butter. The syrup ended up a mass of sugar and cinnamon swimming in a pool of melted butter. Still, it worked as a delivery system for flavor. The proportion of frosting to cupcake was a touch sparse, but not too bad, and honestly, more frosting might have stopped my heart! The pecan crumble turned out pretty bad. I am wondering if the butter in the brown sugar cinnamon mix shouldn't be replaced with Karo or something like that. I'm just starting to learn to bake, so my thoughts shouldn't be taken as knowledge. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is also a great base recipe. I added some spices to it and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
These were very well-received when I made them at Easter. The cupcake doesn't become anything tasting like a Cinnabon until you add the cinnamon syrup and cream cheese frosting (of course). The advantage to this is that I suppose you could leave those items out and still use this for a decent basic "blank canvas" cupcake recipe. I made one batch and only got 23 cupcakes, but I also overfilled several cups. I expect that when (not if!) I make this again, I will be better about using my "disher" for consistent amounts in each cup. I made one batch of frosting, which turned out to be pretty much exactly enough when you spread it on the cupcakes with a knife. One thing I should mention: the papers pulled away from pretty much every cupcake when they were baked; between this and the fact that they were a little crumbly, eating these cupcakes is a messy (yet still enjoyable) experience. This might be helped if you stir the syrup into the batter instead of just pouring it on top, like I did (lesson learned for next time!). Overall, this is a very delicious cupcake that's just a bit messy - like its inspiration! Definitely will be looking for an excuse to bring these to work soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
These were a huge hit for Easter. One thing I would mention is to make sure you swirl in the cinnamon syrup when you put it on the batter or it doesn't really cook through the cake. I also ended up making two batches of frosting but it may have been because I used a frosting gun. They were delicious. I am positive I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States