Cindy's Snappy Sensational Superfood Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very bland and not worth the effort. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
The flavor was good. I subbed beef broth for the water. I doubled the recipe and I wished I wouldn't have doubled the lentils. It was too overpowered by lentils. The turnip was delicious. I doubled all the spices except the cinnamon. We put a dollop of sour cream in top and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
What a GREAT soup! Made it yesterday and we had for dinner tonight. Even my picky 7 yr old cleaned his bowl. After reading other reviews I too modified it to our tastes. Sautéed onions with 5 crushed garlic cloves, then added sliced organic cremini mushrooms. Used 2 Veg broth cubes in about 8 cups of H20, substituted frozen organic Kale for the spinach and doubled the spices (except cayenne as I didn't have any)and put in fresh ginger vs powder. Didn't have turnip either so chopped up some fresh roma tomatoes. Cooked on high in crock pot as directed yesterday, then set to low for 4 hours today. YUM! This soup is very easy, versatile and delicious. Thanks for sharing Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuskokaJac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made some adjustments to the recipe based on the reviews. I added 1 chopped onion, a full 6oz. bag of fresh chopped spinach, 1 extra carrot and potato. I omitted the turnips(don't like them), and added a tomato, two stalks of celery. I also doubled the spices but omitted the cinnamon (husband not a fan) and covered the mixture with veggie broth. Overall, a great crockpot recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Tried this yesterday and it was a big hit (well, with ME and Jackie, anyway!) And if our friends don't like it...well, tough! All the more for us.) Thanks, Cindy! I stuck with the recipe except I didn't have the fresh Basil. No biggy...just doubled up on the dried. BONUS, I DID have fresh ginger, so doubled up on that too, using my cheese grater. Yummmmmmyyyyyy! Also, you can make this recipe in HALF the time by nuking the turnip, carrots and potatoes till tender first, then chucking them into a big soup pot with the lentils, herbs and spices. Bring everything to a boil then simmer for two or three hours. Leave chunky...or put it through the processor for a creamy bowl of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRESIDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
One of my favorites. I do lots of variations on the veggies (turnips, parsnips, rutabagas, mixed fingerling potatoes, etc) but the spice mix is a winner, especially if you add some organic veg broth as well as water. One recommendation: throw in the spinach at the very end and it will add texture as well as flavor, instead of turning to mush after a full day's cooking. I also vary the lentils if I have a lot of veg, just to trade bulk for flavor. A fun base to play with, and the house will always smell awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Schoon
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This soup was so hearty and yummy!! I'm not a great cook without amazing recipes like this, it made me proud to share it and show it off! And even great as leftovers. The only I will change for next time will be to put a little less cinnamon. It was perfect when fresh, but as my lunch the next day, the cinnamon stood out more to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktboutilier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Loved the soup! Added mozzerela cheese and it was wonderful. When I make again I wil add onions.Wasn't spicy enough for me so I will also double up on the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
After reading the reviews saying it was too bland, I tried to dress it up with beef broth, a can of diced tomatoes and some ginger. My husband liked it, but I wasn't so sure. I need to try it again with just the base recipe - I think only the tomatoes should have stayed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Awesome! I added a can of diced tomatoes and a chopped onion. Very healthy, filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States