Cindy's Really Good Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Terrible!!!! Arrrggghhhh! Christmas Eve dinner! Wayyyyyy too many breadcrumbs. Use 1/2 cup instead. Cheese sauce was completely absorbed by crumbs on top,resulting in dry potatoes. Had to,put lads'of butter on them to eat them. Not my mothers recipe for sure. 4 red potatoes? What does that mean? They come in many many sizes. Weight would be a better measure. 4 servings what size?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time today and It was a major hit with my hubby! I would recommend this recipe to anyone that loves cheesy potatoes! Ps It took me alittle longer to cook mine because I had made a slight bigger casserole dish! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Sauce was too thick, didn't taste creamy at all. My boyfriend will eat almost anything and turned his note up at this. I'd rather have the one out of the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
not a good recipe at all. dry dry dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
All of the measurements were off: the rue too thick, there was way too much cracker crumb for a topping and the whole thing was bland. In retrospect I should've known better - I did read the ingredients. It's too bad that folks rate a recipe based upon how it tasted AFTER they fixed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Definately a keeper! I'm glad I read the other reviews and doubled the sauce and thinned it out just a little. Instead of bread crumbs, I grated some cheddar onto the top before baking. It was beautiful and delicious! Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was really good and easy. I would add more salt next time!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanon K ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We loved these, but I did change it up a bit, hence the 4 stars instead of 5! This is a great base recipe to create something totally awesome... I used regular potatoes, doubled the sauce using light velveeta instead of the cheddar and adding a little more milk to thin it out a bit, garlic powder and seasoned salt to taste. I layered the potatoes (which I peeled), some cheese sauce, finely chopped onion, some shredded cheddar and a little blue cheese and then repeated the layers. LOVED the buttered cracker topping! This was a huge hit w/ me and my hubby! These will be made over and over! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Loved this dish. I did double up on the cheese sauce and used my usual white potatoes rather than the red ones. I used Club crackers for the topping and we were all fighting to get the top layer because it was so crunchy and delicious! Very good flavor- thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yum!! I did double or triple the sauce since I am making lots. But layered the potatoes w/ the sauce and poured the rest over the top, thought it would be too runny but set up perfect!! Added some chopped flat leaf parsley from my garden to the cracker mix and VOILA! Best casserole potatos I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States